Thread: Ripping a DVD on Mythbuntu v10.10 does not show up in Library

Beans

Ripping a DVD on Mythbuntu v10.10 does not show up in Library

Hello,

I have recently built a HTPC with brand new components and have loaded Mythbuntu v10.10 (clean install). After getting the video/HDMI audio working on the DVD Player, I starting looking at the DVD ripping feature. Right out of the box I am having difficulties getting the videos to show up in the Video Library.

I can start the ripping process and it completes no problem. I even navigate to the folder and can see the file is present. However, when I return to the DVD Library menu, it can't find the video! Is there something simple I am doing wrong? I assumed this would just work out of the box, but I guess not. I have ripped a DVD as both a .ISO and .VOB thinking it was the format, but neither file is displayed.

I am very new to Linux (see experience level below) so please bear with me. It is very possible, that some very simple thing is not setup right. Any help is much appreciated...

My experience level:
    NEVER installed or run Linux in my life.
    Been working on PC's for the last 20 yrs.
    Been writing code as a Software Engineer for 10yrs.
    I am familiar with Cygwin, because we use gmake and gcc at work.

- Jeff

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Ripping a DVD on Mythbuntu v10.10 does not show up in Library

Quote Originally Posted by sparafucile17 View Post
    Hello,

I have recently built a HTPC with brand new components and have loaded Mythbuntu v10.10 (clean install). After getting the video/HDMI audio working on the DVD Player, I starting looking at the DVD ripping feature. Right out of the box I am having difficulties getting the videos to show up in the Video Library.