Thread: Editing GRUB2 boot options

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Editing GRUB2 boot options

How do i edit the names of the options listed? and how do i remove entries? (not kernels as i only have one)

is the +memtest required?
    win 7 dual boot came with system partitiion labeled (windows vista(loader) ). how do i make this option not show up. when i click the windows 7 loader option it goes into windows just fine.

thanks in advance. i am a noob at this still. bear with me.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Editing GRUB2 boot options

If you just want to remove entries with a gui program, Grub Customizer works well.

https://launchpad.net/grub-customizer

Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:danielrichter2007/grub-customizer
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install grub-customizer

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Question Re: Editing GRUB2 boot options

FULL INSTRUCTIONS
    =============================
    I have taken the time to write a full tutorial as to how to customise your GRUB 2 entries. Due to GRUB 2 not being updated after Windows 7's release, it detects it as Windows Vista. You can edit your entries by opening the /etc/grub.d/ directory with administrative priveleges, editing a custom file, then updating the GRUB database. Here I explain:

Open /etc/grub.d/ with root access by opening a Terminal (Applications > Accessories > Terminal) and typing
    Code:
    sudo nautilus /etc/grub.d/
    You will be asked for your password, which WON'T be displayed on screen for security reasons. However, press ENTER after typing your password and a File Manager window will open.