Thread: kmail/kontact questions

Beans

kmail/kontact questions

Hi,
    I have been using pine/alpine for about 15 years, and I am about to migrate (maybe) to kmail (indexing and searching in my emails, more advanced (?) addressbook integrated into other apps, etc). I would have a few questions:

- Is there any other way to set up a local mail folder (in my home directory) other than deleting ~/.kde/share/apps/kmail/mail and soft-linking it to the directory I want to use? Can I not set up another local mailbox directly defined to use the directory I want?

- The great advantage of (al)pine's addressbook was that it was stored on the same email server wher all my emails were also stored. I could log in to our linux servers from everywhere in the world (using putty from windows), and I had all my addresses available. If I now set up a kde addressbook, can I sync it to an alpine addressbook in the mail server, so that if I am away from my notebook, I can still have access to my contacts from alpine? (of course the kde addressbook can contain far more information than alpine's addressbook - I would only want to upload the necessary info to the server)

- In KDE I can set up contact groups, and I can send emails to all members of the group by specifying this group as the recipient. Alpine expanded groups immediately, so I could see who are the actual recipients, so it was easy to add a few more if needed, or remove a few if I wanted to skip somebody from the list. Can this be done in kmail? It would be a necessary feature for me.

- I created a contact group, but I can not find the corresponding file (vcard?). Where does it get stored?

Thanks
    Last edited by barna; February 16th, 2011 at 04:51 PM.

Beans

Re: kmail/kontact questions