Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Flash 10.2 with no vdpau acceleration

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    58

    Flash 10.2 with no vdpau acceleration

    Hello,

    Basically, the title says it all: I installed the new Flash 10.2 (with flash-aid) and I have no acceleration on Youtube.

    I thought that maybe I had something wrong with my system, so I reinstalled Ubuntu 10.10. Then installed Flash and the vdpau-va-driver. Still nothing.

    I have a ION card, so I should have full flash acceleration on video, like I have in windows.

    Any advice on how to debug this?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    U.S.A. Illinios
    Beans
    336
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Flash 10.2 with no vdpau acceleration

    When you installed 10.10 did you also install the third party applications in the ubiquity installer, (this option is on one of the first pages of the installation) If so then there is no need to install flash player manually, as it gets installed from the start, You may have conflicting installations of flash !
    johnnyg713
    Ultimate Edition,We are World Wide and Growing !
    http://ultimateedition.info/
    http://www.ultimateeditionoz.com/for...hp?f=36&t=2387

  3. #3
    beew is offline Iced Blended Vanilla Crème Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    2,785

    Re: Flash 10.2 with no vdpau acceleration

    I have the same issue. I have tried disabling Comoiz but it makes no difference.


    Quote Originally Posted by JOHNNYG713 View Post
    When you installed 10.10 did you also install the third party applications in the ubiquity installer, (this option is on one of the first pages of the installation) If so then there is no need to install flash player manually, as it gets installed from the start, You may have conflicting installations of flash !
    Lovinglinux's flashaid plugin is supposed to get the latest flash while removing conflicting versions. Normally it works better than anything in the Ubuntu repositories.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    58

    Re: Flash 10.2 with no vdpau acceleration

    Quote Originally Posted by beew View Post
    I have the same issue. I have tried disabling Comoiz but it makes no difference.
    Do you also have an ION? Maybe this is an ION issue...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Cluj, Romania
    Beans
    1,292

    Re: Flash 10.2 with no vdpau acceleration

    Flash player does support vdpau. Tried and works (nvidia 8200 integrated, 270.18 drivers, should work with any vdau driver in theory). I just downloaded the tar.gz, unpacked it in $HOME/.mozilla/plugins/ (i have no flash installed from the repos).

    Here is what i did to enable hardware decoding:
    Created

    /etc/adobe/mms.cfg and put this in it:

    EnableLinuxHWVideoDecode=1

    Restarted the browser and it worked (well on some sites anyway).

    Working site: youtube, 1080p content works either at ~40% cpu or ~10-20% - i dont know why is this big difference, i tested it wth the same clip (big buck bunny) a few times.
    I turned on the video details from the right click menu and it showed that it was accelerated (software rendering is at ~100% on my Athlon II x2 250 @3 GHz)
    Vimeo said that stage video is available but for whatever reason it did not use it.

    Problems: some sites wont play streaming video if hardware acceleration is enabled. Additionally, if flash is loaded once, i get tearing vdpau playback (with mplayer). Regardless if the browser is stopped, the tearing remains until i restart x or sometimes it goes away after a few suspend/resume cycles.
    So Adobe had good reason to disable it by default.
    Last edited by gradinaruvasile; February 11th, 2011 at 09:08 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    58

    Re: Flash 10.2 with no vdpau acceleration

    Quote Originally Posted by gradinaruvasile View Post
    Here is what i did to enable hardware decoding:
    Created

    /etc/adobe/mms.cfg and put this in it:

    EnableLinuxHWVideoDecode=1

    Restarted the browser and it worked (well on some sites anyway).
    PERFECT, worked like a charm! Thank you!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •