Thread: Install alongside Windows not showing.

Beans

Install alongside Windows not showing.

Hello,

I'm not very experienced in working with Ubuntu. I did try it using Wubi to install and that I liked very much. But now with the latest version (10.10) the wubi installer isn't showing every option. How do I get the old interface where you can install it alongside Windows?

The first attachment is what I get when opening wubi.exe and the second one is what I would like. That is a 10.04 version.

Thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Edubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Install alongside Windows not showing.

Did you download an iso that doesn't support wubi e.g. edubuntu or the alternate iso etc?

See the https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide for info on installing wubi.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

The current version of Wubi offers 10.04 . To get Wubi for 10.10 installation You can download the 10.10 ISO , burn a cd , and run Wubi from the disk.

Another option is to use the link and scroll to the bottom of the page and download Wubi .exe. http://releases.ubuntu.com/maverick/
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro

@Frogs Hair, I checked a few days ago and they've updated the main download to 10.10 now.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Quote Originally Posted by bcbc View Post
    @Frogs Hair, I checked a few days ago and they've updated the main download to 10.10 now.

Thanks! the last time I installed Wubi with a friend it was 10.04 and we used the index page to get 10.10.
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

Beans