Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: 10.10 amd64 does not see all 8 gigs of ram

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    8

    10.10 amd64 does not see all 8 gigs of ram

    Hello,
    I am running mythbuntu 10.10 64 bit, the bios sees 8 gigs of ram, but when I run top it only shows about 3.2 gigs. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Beans
    3,779

    Re: 10.10 amd64 does not see all 8 gigs of ram

    You've installed 32bit. It should have dtected 4GB+ and instyalled the PAE kernel, but it seems that has failed......again.

    You could just install the PAE kernel, but I wouldnt. (unless there is some myth/64bit issue I dont know about). PAE will limit you to using 3-4GB pre process, and its slower than 64bit.

    BTW, why 8GB on a myth box?
    Last edited by cascade9; January 31st, 2011 at 04:37 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,464

    Re: 10.10 amd64 does not see all 8 gigs of ram

    You could run my script from http://www.appelboor.com/check-my-hardware.py to see what's going on: hardware, bios, cpu, OS, etc

    Get and run the script like this:


    Code:
    cd
    wget http://www.appelboor.com/check-my-hardware.py
    sudo python check-my-hardware.py
    Last edited by sanderj; January 31st, 2011 at 08:01 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    8

    Re: 10.10 amd64 does not see all 8 gigs of ram

    Here's the result of the python script.

    Code:
    OK, you're root
    ANALYSIS:
    Total of physical memory modules found 8192 MB in 4 memory module(s)
    BIOS offers 7421 MB as usable
    BIOS offers 6650 MB as 'modified' usable
    Memory seen by OS 3269 MB
    BIOS version 03/31/2006
    CPU is PAE enabled
    CPU is x86_64 64-bit enabled
    OS is x86_64 64-bit
    Summary:
    Memory difference between DIMM hardware and BIOS offering 1542 MB
    Memory difference between BIOS offering and memory seen by OS 3381 MB
    Memory difference between DIMM hardware and memory seen by OS 4923 MB
    ADVICE:
    Your BIOS is not offering all of your physical memory. Try to update your BIOS, and/or enable 'memory hole rempapping / hoisting' in your BIOS to get more usable memory
    @cascade
    The backend is supporting 4 frontends, I figured 8 gigs should be plenty

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,464

    Re: 10.10 amd64 does not see all 8 gigs of ram

    Hi, great that you ran my script.

    Looking at the output, I'm not 100% sure about it's advice, but I would certainly start by updating the BIOS: 2006 ... so almost 5 years old.

    Can you do that?


    BIOS version 03/31/2006
    ADVICE:
    Your BIOS is not offering all of your physical memory. Try to update your BIOS, and/or enable 'memory hole rempapping / hoisting' in your BIOS to get more usable memory

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    8

    Re: 10.10 amd64 does not see all 8 gigs of ram

    Yeah, I saw that too. latest bios is dated 2007, I will update it and get back with the results.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    8

    Re: 10.10 amd64 does not see all 8 gigs of ram

    Well, its a Dell, and the bios flash utility only works on windows. Any ideas? Don't have a windows disk around.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Beans
    5,814
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: 10.10 amd64 does not see all 8 gigs of ram

    Quote Originally Posted by tmfizzle View Post
    Well, its a Dell, and the bios flash utility only works on windows. Any ideas? Don't have a windows disk around.
    Call Dell
    Last night I lay in bed looking up at the stars in the sky and I thought to myself, where the heck is the ceiling.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Brisbane
    Beans
    3,779

    Re: 10.10 amd64 does not see all 8 gigs of ram

    You might be able to flash with a floppy (quelle horreur!)

    What model dell is it?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    8

    Re: 10.10 amd64 does not see all 8 gigs of ram

    Dimension E510

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •