Page 15 of 49 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast
Results 141 to 150 of 490

Thread: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

  1. #141
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    11

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    mtron:

    I have made some chages of the userhome function in your display-seloctor script. What do you think of the following? Seems to work for me

    ## figure out the location of the .vga-selector file
    userhome () {
    if [ -s /tmp/.vga-selector ] ; then
    echo "/tmp is the way to go";
    dirname=/tmp
    echo "INFO: User preference found! Using /tmp/.vga-selector"
    else
    echo "INFO: nothing useable found in /tmp. Moving on...";
    for dir in `ls /home`
    do
    file=/home/$dir/.vga-selector
    dirname=`dirname "$file"`
    if [ ! -s $file ]; then
    echo "INFO: No user preference found in /home/$dir. Moving on..."
    else
    echo "INFO: User preference found! Using $file"
    break
    fi
    done
    fi
    }

  2. #142
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    EU
    Beans
    549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    ah, exiting the loop is a good idea

    Thanks! new deb package following...

  3. #143
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    2

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    Quote Originally Posted by bero74 View Post
    sudo display-settings reboot-nvidia does override the settings in .vga-selector file. This way the script works great!
    I had this same problem. Using sudo display-settings reboot-nvidia worked for switching for me too. I just dropped a launcher on my desktop to switch to nVidia if I want to so I won't forget the commands.

    Thanks so much for the help on this. Will the new fix you're working on make the desktop launcher unnecessary?

  4. #144
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    EU
    Beans
    549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    Let's see
    Last edited by mtron; May 11th, 2011 at 08:32 PM.

  5. #145
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    20

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    I was able to get the switching working well with barthus's scripts in the first post (with a slight change for automatically pointing to acpi_call.ko). I then created two menu entries to run the nvidia and intel scripts. This seems to work best for me because 99% of the time, I'm plugged in to AC power, so booting to nvidia by default is good. I do think a kernel option to boot into intel only would be best -- that way I could select it on boot when on battery power. But, restarting into intel works for now.

    On a side note, has anyone noticed very poor speed and performance on the Broadcom wireless in natty? At best, I can get it to show 75 mb/s on a wireless N network. That's with the sta driver. With b43, I'm luck to get 60 mb/s. My old 1005ha with atheros, shows 150 mb/s on the same network. Haven't been able to figure out if this is a change from maverick or not -- the sta driver doesn't seem to want to install on LiveUSB.
    Last edited by Nisitiiapi; May 13th, 2011 at 11:46 PM.

  6. #146
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    9

    S.o.s!!!

    Hi guys!
    I really need your help: I'm trying to use the nvidia card in order to connect my tv via hdmi with the info in the post #1 but I'm always getting this error:

    "cp: cannot stat `/etc/X11/xorg.conf_nvidia': No such file or directory"

    How can I solve that problem?

    I'm running Ubuntu 11.04 and I'd like to run always nvdia because I'd like to use my 1015PN as mediacenter with XBMC.

  7. #147
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    9

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    Hi, I'm keep trying to use ION on my Asus and after a fresh instalaltion of the new 11.04 with all the updates installed and the 3 new drivers I can use the hdmi out of the box!

    In order to use the TV as clone display I had just to open the NVIDIA "X Server settings", detect my TV (connected via hdmi) and configure it as twindisplay and clone mode.

    Now my question is: can I assume that if I can see my desktop "cloned" in my TV via hdmi I'm running correctly the Nvidia ION2 card? How can I check if is it really running instead of the Intel?

    I've tryed to play hd video in 720p without probelm but full-hd 1080p videa won't play and freeze vlc...

    Last problem: Nvidia X server settings lose the configuration when I reboot the system even if I launch it with sudo and I save the .conf file.


    No one can really help me starting from a fresh installation of 11.04?

  8. #148
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    20

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    This is somewhat of a guess, but if you're using the scripts, don't modify xorg.conf directly, modify xorg.conf.nvidia or whatever you have your nvida configuration file called. The xorg.conf should change when you reboot if you're using one of the scripts -- by becoming a symlink to xorg.conf.nvida or xorg.conf.intel.

    To see if the nvidia chip is active, if you're using mtron's scripts:
    Code:
    sudo display-settings status
    Otherwise, do:
    Code:
    lspci | grep VGA

  9. #149
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    Hello,

    i had a problem installing the acpitools 0.4!

    i did not have a xorg.conf,

    and thus the backup copy in the postinstall script did not succeed resulting in a partially installed acpitools

    "dpkg -C" said:
    Code:
    Die folgenden Pakete sind nur halb konfiguriert, wahrscheinlich durch
    Probleme während der ersten Konfiguration. Die Konfiguration sollte mit
    dpkg --configure <Paket> oder mit dem Konfigurations-Menüeintrag in
    dselect erneut versucht werden:
     acpitools            Helper scripts to select used GPU on Asus EeePC 1015PN
    Solution:
    Code:
    cd /var/lib/dpkg/info
    mv acpitools.postinst acpitools.postinst.off
    dpkg --configure acpitools
    mv acpitools.postinst.off acpitools.postinst
    now everything works perfectly on natty! Thank you really much mtron!

  10. #150
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    EU
    Beans
    549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Asus Eee PC 1015PN - graphic cards: Optimus and ION

    Thanks for the info.

    Didn't know that there is no xorg.conf after a standard install

    I'll fix the deb!

Page 15 of 49 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •