Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: logitech controller....how to get it to work?

Beans

logitech controller....how to get it to work?

Hi,
    I'm running 10.10 and want to play games on Ubuntu using my logitech GamePad F310.

Where can I find drivers for it? Thanks

I know this is a total noob question, but well....yeah I just started using Ubuntu.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: logitech controller....how to get it to work?

If you automatically don't receive a little pop up saying that there are drivers for the device, then it most likely isn't supported by ubuntu. most logitech products usually aren't supported.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.10 Karmic Koala

You won't need to install any drivers, compatibility for control pads is built in to the OS. I have a Logitech controller, I just need to plug it in and it works. Check lsusb from a terminal to see if the pad is listed, if not then I would say it is not supported.

It also depends on what games you are using, support needs to be built into the game for the pad to work. AFAIK games that are designed for keyboard and mouse cannot be forced to use a pad instead.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

You shouldn't need any drivers for it. I recently purchased this same gamepad and it worked as soon as I plugged it in. There was no pop-up or anything. I got it for my emulators, (Mupen64plus, ZSNES, Gens) and it just worked. Flawlessly, I might add. It's easily the best gamepad I've ever used. Very responsive, very precise. I'm running 10.10 Maverick Meerkat 64-bit.

You may have it in the wrong mode. On mine, I have the bottom switch on X not D. Also there is a mode button on the face with a light. Mine is not lit. I have had no problems. I hope you get it working, it's a great gamepad.

Also, be aware that this pad identifies as a "Generic X-Box pad" at least according to Mupen64plus.
    100% Microsoft-free since 2001
    Registered Linux User #527135

Beans