Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Remote desktop says authentication failed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Remote desktop says authentication failed

    I am running an updated copy of 10.04 LTS desktop. I have firewalled all the ports on my desktop except port 22. To remote desktop I SSH into my computer and setup a tunnel from 5900 to localhost:5900. This normally works and lets me securely access my desktop. Recently when I open VNC it asks me for a password, which I type in. Then it says authentication failed. I tried removing the password in my Remote Desktop Preferences on my Ubuntu desktop, but this did not fix the problem and my VNC client continued to ask for a password. Is there a way I can reset my VNC settings? I feel like some how my configuration became corrupt and that is the reason I continue to not be able to login to my system through VNC.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    4,534
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Remote desktop says authentication failed

    I believe the file in which the password is stored is located in ~/.vnc or similar, look for it, then simply delete it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Remote desktop says authentication failed

    I don't have a .vnc directory in my home folder. I believe .vnc is only created when you use vncserver, not Preferences > Remote Desktop

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Beans
    1,995
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Remote desktop says authentication failed

    The VNC "Remote Desktop" server embedded into the modern Gnome desktop (`vino-server`)
    stores the VNC password encrypted in the keyring.

    Sometimes I used to find it helpful to
    Code:
    killall vino-server
    but
    I just now tried this on my 10.04 LTS box and it doesn't seem to respawn anymore.
    Whoops!

    At any rate a reboot or logout/login should have the same effect.

    Did you know if you install a package that provides the command line `vncviewer`
    such as "xtightvncviewer" you can have it build the ssh tunnel for you like this:
    Code:
    vncviewer -bgr233 -via <user>@<remote_host> localhost
    ^since you've already done some tunneling by hand you already know
    that the last bit there really should always be "localhost"
    For anyone else who's confused by this, think of it as specifying the VNC host
    from the point of view of inside the SSH tunnel created by `-via`

    `-bgr233` color reduction really helps out a lot on a slow connection.
    Last edited by asmoore82; January 26th, 2011 at 07:32 AM.
    Give me Free Software or Give me Death!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    4,534
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Remote desktop says authentication failed

    Quote Originally Posted by b89.smith View Post
    I don't have a .vnc directory in my home folder. I believe .vnc is only created when you use vncserver, not Preferences > Remote Desktop
    Sorry, I didn't get that in the first place.

    Wouldn't it be sufficient just to run vino-server after killall, like this?:
    Code:
    killall vino-server && vino-server
    Anyways, I'm curious if it helps in this case.
    Last edited by Krytarik; January 26th, 2011 at 08:53 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Burlington, NC
    Beans
    1,995
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Remote desktop says authentication failed

    Quote Originally Posted by Krytarik View Post
    Wouldn't it be sufficient just to run vino-server after killall, like this?
    No, `vino-server` must be embedded within the Desktop session that it's sharing.

    This used to work but doesn't seem to anymore either:
    Code:
    DESKTOP=:0 vino-server
    Last edited by asmoore82; January 26th, 2011 at 09:00 PM.
    Give me Free Software or Give me Death!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Remote desktop says authentication failed

    Restarting or rebooting the computer does not fix the problem.

    My tunnels are all correct. When I attempt to VNC into the linux box a password dialog box appears. So I know it is connecting just not authenticating.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •