Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HP Pavilion dv5 Touchpad Won't Work in Ubuntu

Beans

Question HP Pavilion dv5 Touchpad Won't Work in Ubuntu

Hey Ubuntu People,
    I'm fairly new with this version of Ubuntu. (I used it when it was still in version 7, etc.) I have a problem with my touchpad. I've found solutions for "Ubuntu Multi-touch Touchpad" etc,etc.

Unfortunately, my problem is a bit different. My touchpad buttons are actually on the same face as the touchpad. (They are just rocker buttons, but still part of the touchpad detector.) This poses a problem, because whenever I press the touchpad button and try to move another finger on the touchpad (or anytime I have two fingers on the touchpad--moving a window on screen for example) the mouse goes crazy wild and starts jumping all over the screen. This means multi-touch gestures are ALSO not supported, but that's the least of my problems.

I think it probably has something to do with the Synaptics Touchpad drivers. If anyone could offer any help that would be incredibly appreciated.

--Nick

My hardware specs just in case:
    HP Pavilion dv5-2135dx
    ATI Radeon Mobility HD4250
    4GB DDR3 Ram
    AMD 64-bit dual-core processor

(Just ask for more info and I can find it.)

Beans

Re: HP Pavilion dv5 Touchpad Won't Work in Ubuntu

A friend is having the same problem with 10.04 (Lynx), using the same laptop (HP Pavilion dv5).

Trying to find help for this Thanks

Beans

I'm going to edit the title and tags to include "clickpad." That's the technical name for it.

Beans

I wonder if it's not polite to bring this thread back to the first page? My friend and I haven't found a solution and I did search quiet a bit. Anyone that could be his hero? I don't want him to go back to Windows

Beans