Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Beginning Python - Problem Inputting Text

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Beginning Python - Problem Inputting Text

I'm new to programming, but have been trying to teach myself python, as I've read that's a good place to start. I'm using IDLE and have tried both 2.6 and 3.1 but I keep running into the same problem. IDLE does not recognize when I type. Sometimes it will work initially, but it will stop letting me type after I run my program. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Beginning Python - Problem Inputting Text

Something sounds wrong with your installation of idle, try removing it from software centre and reinstalling, if not, are you able to type in other windows/text editors??
    Catch me on Freenode - imark

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

purge idle
    Code:
    sudo apt-get purge idle-python2.6
    then install it again.
    are there any error messages? can you be more specific about the issue? Look, sometimes you are not able to open idle (2.6) more than once.

Beans

Idle opens a 'Python Shell' window that shows you *results*. That's why you can't type much. You can type on the bottomost '>>>' prompt, but that's not where you do your work.

Select File -> New Window to create a window you can create programs in.
    To test your program, save it (CTRL+S), then run it (F5)...and see the reults in the original 'Python Shell' window.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Thanks for the replies, but my problems seem to have multiplied. I purged IDLE, and then reinstalled 3.1.3. Now, I can type in the shell, but whenever I open a new window, I cannot type. Further more, in the shell, when I try to run a very basic command, for example:

print "hello world! "

I get the following error:

print "hello, world! "
    SyntaxError: invalid syntax