Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: mythtv-setup program How do I access it?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    273

    mythtv-setup program How do I access it?

    I installed a nonfunctional tuner card (AverMedia TVHD Duet) and replaced it with another (WinTV HVR-1250). But I get this error message from MythTV Frontend ....

    MythTV has no capture cards define. Please run mythtv-setup program.

    When I exit mythTV using ESC and enter Ubuntu, I can't find mythtv-setup program in Applications Menu or sub-menus. Secondly, while I'm in mythTV I selected Utilities/Setup | Setup and followed the prompts. This didn't "discover any TV Cards". I can't find a menu option that will discover a TV card.


    Where/How do I find/use mythtv-setup progam?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Hungary
    Beans
    64
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: mythtv-setup program How do I access it?

    Try to run it from terminal, it will bring up an UI anyway (if I remember right).
    The truth is out there

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Neither here nor there
    Beans
    3,290
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: mythtv-setup program How do I access it?

    You can run it from a terminal

    Code:
    mythtv-setup
    or from mythtbuntu-control-centre.
    Linux & MythTV 4 Life
    Running ubuntu on an Atom 330, Atom D525, Turion 64 X2 TL-56, X2 3800, X2 4200, X2 4600, E2180, Core i5 450M, and a Core i7-2600
    My Hardware

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    273

    Re: mythtv-setup program How do I access it?

    Thanks for the tip.

    1. Note for future newbies like myself, you can't access "Mythtv-setup" from Mythbuntu Control Centre.
    2. from terminal mode: mythtv-setup <E>
    This works, but it brings up a message: "MythTVbackend must be closed before contining. Is it OK to close any currently running mythbackend processes?"

    I answered yes. Then entered my username's password and not the mythtv database password. Then saw this menu:
    1.General
    2.Capture Cards
    3.Video Sources
    4.Input Connections
    5.Channel Editor


    3. Here's the menu approach to running "mythtv-setup"...
    Applications|System|MythTV Backend Setup


    As a note to developers, It would be more user friendly if the error message from MythTv's frontend would clearly state that the MythTV Backend Setup needs to be used. "mythtv-setup" is too vague.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: mythtv-setup program How do I access it?

    But the documentation is very clear on what to run:

    http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/User_Manu...__mythtv-setup

    or

    http://www.mythtv.org/docs/mythtv-HOWTO-9.html#ss9.1

    Both say to run mythtv-setup, what is counter-intuitive about that?
    Last edited by tgm4883; January 24th, 2011 at 10:19 PM. Reason: Disabling smilies in this text to fix links

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Neither here nor there
    Beans
    3,290
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: mythtv-setup program How do I access it?

    Quote Originally Posted by nhtrader View Post
    Thanks for the tip.

    1. Note for future newbies like myself, you can't access "Mythtv-setup" from Mythbuntu Control Centre.
    ...
    Yes you can. It's on the mysql page in mythbuntu-control-centre (Launch mythtv Setup)
    Linux & MythTV 4 Life
    Running ubuntu on an Atom 330, Atom D525, Turion 64 X2 TL-56, X2 3800, X2 4200, X2 4600, E2180, Core i5 450M, and a Core i7-2600
    My Hardware

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    273

    Re: mythtv-setup program How do I access it?

    nickrout,

    Nothing if you know where to look.

    I'm glad you responded to this and shared what you know. However, think about this. You load a something new - mythbuntu. You dive into it. And the first thing you encounter are numerous error messages. Where do you begin? As you are well aware of documentation is sparse and lacking, so I tread on here in this forum.

    So the hunt begins for newbies such as myself to find the resources that matter (and thank you for the links that you posted). Plus, I didn't know at the time which half of the program I'm dealing with - frontend or backend. When you see MythTV appear for the first time it doesn't say you're in the frontend. Plus you think that you could go to Utilities/Setup to make the changes that the program wants you to make. But no. This is not the place.

    And secondly, why should I expect the program to refer me to another program? The setup that I'm "in" (when I boot up MythTV brings me into the frontend program) didn't finish due to an error; therefore this setup is incomplete. So I'm figuring that I need to re-enter it and start over. But no, the program that I'm in (frontend) is telling me to use another section of the program (backend) that I've never seem before. It assumes that I know to switch to another program (backend). I didn't know. Plus the program told me to run "mythtv-setup", but didn't tell me that I need to exit the program; enter ubuntu; and then enter terminal mode to execute a shell command "mythtv-setup". (also notice that this assumes that I know how to enter terminal mode and that I'm familiar with the new stripped down version of ubuntu and know what it is; and where to find terminal mode; and use it)

    Third, when I exit MythTV I enter yet another world - a stripped down version of ubuntu. At this point, I'm lost. I don't know where I am b/c I'm unfamiliar with ubuntu. Secondly, I'm unfamiliar with MythTV and I don't know how to enter either the frontend or the backend. At this point, all I know is to reboot/turn it off and turn it on again which only brings me back to the same cycle of events.

    Lastly, let it be noted that accessing the two halves of MythTV aren't even in the same sub-menu. The frontend is accessed from APPLICATIONS|MUTLITMEDIA and the backend is accessed via APPLICATIONS|SYSTEM. So from a usability standpoint, how is a newbie to know?

    So for those of you more experienced, please be patient with us who are trying to migrate away from something familiar and explore something foreign and way more complicated. I believe the time spent learning something new will pay off. But I have to say that learning how to use MythTV has a steep learning curve. I haven't even gotten to any of the thousands of settings yet.

    Lastly, there are those that are "fearless" and dare to try and explore without worrying about damaging their equipment/system/settings. And there are those that are more cautious and don't want to spend the time to reinstall the whole thing. Trial and error will only get you so far, and then you're back to asking for help.

    I'm in the camp of asking for help right away rather then spending 6+ hours googling for each thing. In the end, this approach will help document what was unclear, non-intuitive, problematic, etc.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    273

    Re: mythtv-setup program How do I access it?

    newlinux,

    thank you for being more specific. I of course was looking for a selection named setup and didn't think to look within MySQL. I clicked several of the other headings but not MySQL and I paid the price - ignorance. Please accept my apologies.


    This goes with what I'm saying that the learning curve is steep. How's a newbie to know?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Neither here nor there
    Beans
    3,290
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: mythtv-setup program How do I access it?

    Quote Originally Posted by nhtrader View Post
    newlinux,

    thank you for being more specific. I of course was looking for a selection named setup and didn't think to look within MySQL. I clicked several of the other headings but not MySQL and I paid the price - ignorance. Please accept my apologies.


    This goes with what I'm saying that the learning curve is steep. How's a newbie to know?
    There is a learning curve, but that is what and other forums are for. We've all been there. It's hard for me to gauge a user's expertise and level or experience (you can know plenty about Linux for instance, but still nothing about mythtv), so I don't always know how specific I need to be, but that's why I offered two ways of doing it.

    You may find it frustrating but mythtbuntu has made things a lot easier than they used to be. I don't use mythtbuntu (I install mythtv on top of ubuntu) - but from what I've seen it's as easy as it gets. The best thing to do is to ask a few questions before getting started. Mythtv is highly complex in ways most users don't know, because few users use all of its features. This flexibility and # of features can make setup complicated and have a steep learning curve. there are some good setup guides out there and for newbies I recommend reading through those, the wikis, and asking questions before trying to set it up.

    This forum can help you through 90% of the problems.
    Linux & MythTV 4 Life
    Running ubuntu on an Atom 330, Atom D525, Turion 64 X2 TL-56, X2 3800, X2 4200, X2 4600, E2180, Core i5 450M, and a Core i7-2600
    My Hardware

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, NZ
    Beans
    3,239

    Re: mythtv-setup program How do I access it?

    Quote Originally Posted by nhtrader View Post
    nickrout,



    I'm in the camp of asking for help right away rather then spending 6+ hours googling for each thing. In the end, this approach will help document what was unclear, non-intuitive, problematic, etc.
    I appreciate that you can muck around a lot on a myth system, buggering it complaetely.

    But the setup instructions are pretty intuitive to find:

    www.mythtv.org

    Click on "Support" then "Documentation"

    Also http://www.mythbuntu.org/support

    Actually the pdf that used to be the mythbuntu install instructions seems to have disappeared - too much a moving target to maintain I suspect.
    Last edited by nickrout; January 25th, 2011 at 04:13 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •