Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: File manager corrupted?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Exclamation File manager corrupted?

Hello

I'm new to Ubuntu and moved to to the OS in late October last year. I'm therefore running 10.10 and have had no experience with any other versions of the OS. I'm running all the default programs except for the mail manager (I run Thunderbird) and now, the file manager (the reason for this post).

Everything was running fine until early December 2010. Then, my file manager started acting up. Whenever my computer boots up, the file manager starts running overtime. I get an icon labelled, "Opening File Manager", and this runs repeatedly for approximately 15 mins. After this, the different instances of the "Opening File Manager" would close one-at-a-time and disappear altogether. I still hear my machine working hard in the background (fan), and it would get very hot (and the fan runs continuously). When this is happening, I can't see any of the files or folders on my desktop. Opening the file manager to access files prompts the same sequence of events ("Opening File Manager" repeatedly) to recur.

If I reboot the machine (or log-off), after the machine asks if I really want to close all programs, I get a message saying that the file manager is still running and asking if I want to wait for it to respond. I always decline this and reboot (or shut-down). When I restart, the same thing happens all over again.

I tried changing the default file manager from Nautilus to PCManFM (using Ubuntu Tweak), and when I logged in again, despite PCManFM being the default file manager) the same thing has happened. I will try to change to Thunar as the default file manager, but I have little faith at the moment.