Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910
Results 91 to 96 of 96

Thread: Grub2 + mdadm RAID1 = cycle reset before grub menu :(

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    3

    Re: Grub2 + mdadm RAID1 = cycle reset before grub menu :(

    Quote Originally Posted by YesWeCan View Post
    Hopefully some of the earlier posters who have similar symptoms will try out these solutions and report in.
    Solve for Squeeze/Debian with RAID 1.

    It's a bug in "graphical terminal" !

    In file "/etc/default/grub", just uncomment the line:
    GRUB_TERMINAL=console

    Do:
    update-grub

    Reboot.
    Disconnect (or disable) /dev/sda.
    Boot on the second disk (become /dev/sdb)

    The Grub menu appear and you can, now, boot on the second disk: Amazing isn't it ?

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    2,199
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Grub2 + mdadm RAID1 = cycle reset before grub menu :(

    What?! Wow.
    That's very interesting.
    So what exactly did you do? You have 4 drives with 4 partitions in RAID1 for /boot?
    When you remove sda it crashes. When you set Grub2 into console mode it boots ok without sda. When you put Grub2 back into graphics mode it crashes again?

    Is that right?

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Beans
    3

    Re: Grub2 + mdadm RAID1 = cycle reset before grub menu :(

    Quote Originally Posted by YesWeCan View Post
    What?! Wow.
    So what exactly did you do? You have 4 drives with 4 partitions in RAID1 for /boot?
    No.
    Only 2 drives /dev/sda en /dev/sdb , with 2 RAID 1 partitions.

    /boot => RAID 1 => /dev/md0
    / => LVM partition => RAID 1 => /dev/md1


    Quote Originally Posted by YesWeCan View Post
    When you remove sda it crashes.
    Yes.
    I could not boot on the "second" drive. In case of the first drive failed, of course.

    I reproduced the same issue on 3 computers.

    Quote Originally Posted by YesWeCan View Post
    When you set Grub2 into console mode it boots ok without sda. When you put Grub2 back into graphics mode it crashes again?

    Is that right?
    Yes.
    It's seems that the "graphical splash menu" isn't installed on the second drive.

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    2

    Re: Grub2 + mdadm RAID1 = cycle reset before grub menu :(

    Quote Originally Posted by Logicos View Post
    Solve for Squeeze/Debian with RAID 1.


    In file "/etc/default/grub", just uncomment the line:
    GRUB_TERMINAL=console

    Do:
    update-grub
    I had a similar problem but in my case the reset occurred just after the grub-menu.
    Server 11.04, 3.0.0.11 kernel, RAID1 3 disks, no LVM.
    This solved the problem, thank you very much!

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    1

    Smile Re: Grub2 + mdadm RAID1 = cycle reset before grub menu :(

    Quote Originally Posted by Logicos View Post
    Solve for Squeeze/Debian with RAID 1.

    It's a bug in "graphical terminal" !

    In file "/etc/default/grub", just uncomment the line:
    GRUB_TERMINAL=console

    Do:
    update-grub

    Reboot.
    Disconnect (or disable) /dev/sda.
    Boot on the second disk (become /dev/sdb)

    The Grub menu appear and you can, now, boot on the second disk: Amazing isn't it ?

    48 hours to try to find how I could have the second disk boot. Your trick worked
    THANK YOU

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    2

    Re: Grub2 + mdadm RAID1 = cycle reset before grub menu :(

    Quote Originally Posted by deconstrained View Post
    1. Install grub on EACH of the array's disks and pass grub-install the option flag --modules="raid". Without --modules="raid" it will fail.
    2. Rebuild your initramfs.

    I followed those two steps and have gotten software raid1/5 working flawlessly.
    +1 for this.
    The --modules flag solved my problem immediately. Thank you!

    Hans

Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •