View Poll Results: Do you use filter paper in your French press/cafetiere?

Voters
20. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    0 0%
  • No

    12 60.00%
  • Don't use a French press/cafetiere

    5 25.00%
  • Don't know what a French press/cafetiere is

    3 15.00%
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Do you put filter paper in your French press/cafetiere?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    over there
    Beans
    2,424
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Do you put filter paper in your French press/cafetiere?

    I don't. I have read that the paper removes oils from the coffee that are best left in the brew. The small amount of residue in the bottom of the cup doesn't bother me.
    "All people are scum. No matter what they look like." ~ Spider Jerusalem, Transmetropolitan #4
    blog


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    77

    Re: Do you put filter paper in your French press/cafetiere?

    I haven't had French press coffee in a while. Now that you mention it, it sounds like a good idea.

    And no, I don't use anything beyond the metal microfilter screen provided.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    8,874
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Do you put filter paper in your French press/cafetiere?

    No filter and Turkish grind, I want ever bit oh the good stuff.





  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Hills CA
    Beans
    7,829
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Do you put filter paper in your French press/cafetiere?

    How else am I going to read my fortune?
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages

    Unumquodque potest reparantur. Patientia sit virtus.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Baja Oklahoma
    Beans
    1,652

    Re: Do you put filter paper in your French press/cafetiere?

    I've never even considered using filter paper. It sounds like much more trouble than it would be worth, and I'm not even sure how that would work. Cutting paper to the right size, and trying to make it stay exactly in place on the bottom, upside down, sounds like way too much effort to make it worthwhile. I suppose one could pour the coffee through a filter to the cup, but again I don't see the point. With the proper grind, it's moot anyway. If I grind my own beans, then I will get some amount of fine solids coming through, but if it's fine enough to get through the screen, then I don't care.
    Asus EEE 900 with Linux Mint Debian Edition
    Linux user 497460

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    74

    Re: Do you put filter paper in your French press/cafetiere?

    No need for a filter, and no need for a press. Pour the grounds, pour the water, (making sure you add your sugar and cream before you add the water), and then gently stir for a couple seconds, and wait. After about three minutes, all the grounds will start to sink to the bottom as they have surrendered all their flavor. I generally stir a little more to break the surface tension, so the bulk of the remaining grounds sink, and start sipping--and yes, the finest grind possible. I can guarantee you won't find a better-tasting coffee than this--though the press is about as close as you can get.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •