Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: music scoring / sequencer behavior query

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Question music scoring / sequencer behavior query

I'm not a musician and I have a musical and Linux software question.

I once saw something in a Mac music scoring app where running your mouse up and down the scale on the little horizontal lines would actually sound each note in turn. Unfortunately I don't remember what the name of the Mac program was, although it was before the days of the iMac.

What is that sort of 'note sounding' behavior called in music software? Are there any Linux programs that do that?

Thanks in advance if you can name the Mac program, the note-sounding behavior or suggest a Linux program that does this. I am completely lost.

Beans

Re: music scoring / sequencer behavior query

You can try MuseScore : http://musescore.org
    It's in the ubuntu repository too.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.10 Karmic Koala

I think you are referring to a piano roll, did it look like this one?
    http://www.cakewalk.com/products/USB.../pianoroll.htm
    What is that sort of 'note sounding' behavior called in music software? Are there any Linux programs that do that?
    There are a few ways of using a computer to create sound. The most commonly used are:

• A software synthesizer - synths produce noise and can be altered using filters and envelopes. There are plenty of these for linux: phasex, bristol, yoshimi, AMS etc. just type "synth" into the software center and try one out. You can play them with a virtual keyboard.
    • Using samples - samples are recordings of actual instruments that can be played back at certain pitches or volumes controlled by a computer. On linux you can use qsynth to play sf2 files which contain large banks of samples. There is also hydrogen which is a very good drum sequencer.

Both of these can be used with MIDI which is a way of saving a digital score of music.