Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Atheros AR5006EG suddenly stops working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    57

    Atheros AR5006EG suddenly stops working

    After a while, my connection suddenly drops and I'm no longer able to see any networks or anything. The only way I can regain my connection is to reboot over time this happens, which is a pain. I've searched around and can't find any fix for this card.
    Lenovo IdeaPad Y570 | Intel HD Graphics 3000/Nvidia GT 555m | Intel Core i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz × 4 | 4 GB RAM | 500 GB HD

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    57

    Re: Atheros AR5006EG suddenly stops working

    bump, anyone?
    Lenovo IdeaPad Y570 | Intel HD Graphics 3000/Nvidia GT 555m | Intel Core i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz × 4 | 4 GB RAM | 500 GB HD

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    57

    Re: Atheros AR5006EG suddenly stops working

    Argh, this is getting incredibly frustrating. Does anyone know what the deal with this chipset is all of a sudden?
    Lenovo IdeaPad Y570 | Intel HD Graphics 3000/Nvidia GT 555m | Intel Core i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz × 4 | 4 GB RAM | 500 GB HD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    57

    Re: Atheros AR5006EG suddenly stops working

    Sigh, bump.
    Lenovo IdeaPad Y570 | Intel HD Graphics 3000/Nvidia GT 555m | Intel Core i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz × 4 | 4 GB RAM | 500 GB HD

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    57

    Re: Atheros AR5006EG suddenly stops working

    Another day, another bump. The frequency with which I have to reboot is getting worse and worse.
    Lenovo IdeaPad Y570 | Intel HD Graphics 3000/Nvidia GT 555m | Intel Core i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz × 4 | 4 GB RAM | 500 GB HD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Beans
    19

    Re: Atheros AR5006EG suddenly stops working

    Same problem here. No solution, yet

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Earth Planet
    Beans
    162
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Atheros AR5006EG suddenly stops working

    Quote Originally Posted by zoniq View Post
    Same problem here. No solution, yet
    I don't know that specific kind of hardware.
    But you could reset it easier without rebooting whole of OS.
    Instead use:
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    Also take a look at output of
    Code:
    dmesg
    maybe there was some clues.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Beans
    782
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Atheros AR5006EG suddenly stops working

    Hey guys. Go to Applications > Accessories > Terminal on your top panel, and type in each of these commands, pressing Enter after each one:
    Code:
    lspci -v
    lshw -C network
    sudo iwconfig
    ifconfig -a
    uname -r
    Then, copy/paste what appears into a reply to this thread. With that information, we should be able to see what's going on.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •