Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Can't set 1360 x 768 resolution

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    50

    Re: Can't set 1360 x 768 resolution

    Ok here is what I have now. It still boots into 1024x768 somehow. This is actually a very interesting process though. I enjoy learning more about this and appreciate the help.

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        # HorizSync source: builtin, VertRefresh source: builtin
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "CRT-0"
        HorizSync       48.36
        VertRefresh     60.0
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce 7300 GS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
        Option         "metamodes" "1360x768_60 +0+0"
        Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals"    "True"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    4,534
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can't set 1360 x 768 resolution

    You should have read this (posted before) :
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Res...%20resolutions
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Config/Res...in%20xorg.conf

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        # HorizSync source: builtin, VertRefresh source: builtin
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "CRT-0"
        HorizSync       48.36    # is this really correct? please post the output of "xvidtune"
        VertRefresh     60.0
        Modeline                 # put the result of "cvt 1360 768" here
        Option         "DPMS"
        Option         "PreferredMode" "1360x768_60.00"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce 7300 GS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
        Option         "1360x768"
        Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals"    "True"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Last edited by Krytarik; December 21st, 2010 at 03:19 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    50

    Re: Can't set 1360 x 768 resolution

    Thanks, I did read that guide. Spent hours in it, actually. I haven't posted everything I've tried. I added modelines yesterday and it didn't boot. I'll try again as per your instrucions.

    Edit: Yes the HorizSync is correct. Got it from xvidtune.

    Edit: Okay tried your xorg.conf. It booted, but in 1024x768:

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        # HorizSync source: builtin, VertRefresh source: builtin
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "CRT-0"
        HorizSync       48.36    
        VertRefresh     60.0
        Modeline       "1360x768_60.00"   84.75  1360 1432 1568 1776  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
        Option         "DPMS"
        Option         "PreferredMode" "1360x768_60.00"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce 7300 GS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
        Option         "1360x768"
        Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals"    "True"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Last edited by pelikan; December 21st, 2010 at 05:09 PM. Reason: added new xorg.conf

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    4,534
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can't set 1360 x 768 resolution

    Obviously I'm also just crawling the web for possible solutions.

    Is your monitor connected via VGA or DVI (or something else)?:
    http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=73027

    If you only have that single LCD connected, try disabling the Twinview options in xorg.conf.

    Uninstall the Nvidia-driver via "Additional Drivers" and rename/remove the xorg.conf, then

    1.) try default "nv" driver (gets used automatically after the above steps)

    2.) try 173er-version of the Nvidia-driver (install them via Synaptic if not offered via "Additional Drivers)

    2.) try the proprietary drivers offered by the Ubuntu-X-Team:
    https://launchpad.net/~ubuntu-x-swat/+archive/x-updates

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    50

    Re: Can't set 1360 x 768 resolution

    Thanks for the suggestions. Using the NV driver, I was able to use xrandr to add a modeline and then set 1360x768 via the Ubuntu menu/System/Preferences/Monitors. That's a great start.

    The only problem is the screen is shifted to the right by about 10%. I was able to adjust my monitor a little, but not enough.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    14

    Re: Can't set 1360 x 768 resolution

    If your monitor supports it, you can try using the 'auto adjust' button if it has one. (I have that option so it adjusts perfectly every time the screen's out of range).

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    50

    Re: Can't set 1360 x 768 resolution

    Thanks Green Moon. My "Auto Adjust" button doesn't do anything, unfortuantely.

    I tried xvidtune, but get an error message when applying settings.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    4,534
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can't set 1360 x 768 resolution

    I wouldn't stick to the "nv"-driver, its performance is rather poor, it doesn't provide hw-accel, this was just a try, if its driver-related, obviously it is.

    Try one of the remaining options next, 173er and Ubuntu-X-Team.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    50

    Re: Can't set 1360 x 768 resolution

    The 173 driver offered a max res of 640x480. I changed the xorg.conf as follows and it rebooted into 1024x768. Something here is helping a little. Not sure what, exactly.

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
        # HorizSync source: builtin, VertRefresh source: builtin
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "CRT-0"
        HorizSync       48.4    
        VertRefresh     60.0
        Modeline       "1360x768_60.00"   84.75  1360 1432 1568 1776  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
        Option         "DPMS"
        Option         "PreferredMode" "1360x768_60.00"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option	    "UseEdid" "False"
        Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
            Modes        "1360x768_60.00"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    	Load	"glx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Default Device"
    	Driver	"nvidia"
    	Option	"NoLogo"	"True"
    EndSection

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    50

    Re: Can't set 1360 x 768 resolution

    I installed the latest driver from Ubuntu-X. It give me an option to set 1360x768 in nvidia-settings. But when I set it, my screen goes blank.

    I've been trying various xorg.conf configurations but nothing has worked so far.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •