Thread: Startup Script

Beans

Startup Script

I've seen how to make scripts for startup, but I need something a bit more advanced.

I need a script to run at startup and do one thing then do the next thing after that is finished.

I'm not a Linux pro and I also can't do a test of this because it could mess up when I'm doing if it doesn't work.

I'm running a Minecraft server and it's being run from /dev/shm with hourly backups.

On startup, I need it to move the backup folder to /dev/shm (which is easy), but then I need it to run a file that's in /dev/shm/server when it's finished copying. I have a feeling this is easier than I'm making it out to be, but I'm posting here to make sure I have it all set up correctly first.
    A timer isn't 100% reliable in this instance, so I need something better. Is there a way to tell when "rsync -au --delete /dev/shm/server/ /media/Julia/server" finishes running so I can access it and run a file?

Thanks.
    ~godslam

Beans

Re: Startup Script

Use && (and operator) between bash commands: only if the first command finishes successfully the second one is executed.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by TeoBigusGeekus View Post
    Use && (and operator) between bash commands: only if the first command finishes successfully the second one is executed.
    Thank you very much.
    That is all I needed. =)

Just making sure though. If I do:

Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    rsync -au --delete /dev/shm/server/ /media/Julia/server
    &&
    java -Xms1024M -Xmx1024M -jar Minecraft_Mod.jar nogui
    Will that work?
    Or do I put:

Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    rsync -au --delete /dev/shm/server/ /media/Julia/server && java -Xms1024M -Xmx1024M -jar Minecraft_Mod.jar nogui
    And that will wait until rsync finishes to run Minecraft_Mod.jar?

Thanks again. =)

Beans

The second one just to be sure.
    Not only will it wait for rsync, but if rsync fails for some reason, it won't go to the second command.

Beans

The second one just to be sure.