Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: B43legacy driver install

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Question Issue with B43legacy driver install

Goodnight all,

I'm having trouble getting my Broadcom wireless card to work with my new ubuntu 10.04 installation. I'm new to linux on a whole, so i know nothing about "sudo commads" and terminal and so forth as i've read in other posts.

My computer is a HP Compaq Presario 2100 currently running a 32-bit Windows XP Home Edition, System Pack 3 and i have 192MB Ram as well as an AMD Processor. I've installed Ubuntu 10.04 as i indicated above, but i cant seem to get the wireless adapter to pick up any signals. My ethernet port doesnt work, so this is my only method of connecting to the net. I would really love to get it working as Ubuntu runs faster than XP.

I've already downloaded the b43-fwcutter thingy as i've seen indicated in many forums. But i dont know where to find the driver exactly. Most of the other forums are so confusing with the folder names, and directories and what not....sigh...Is it possible to take it from the drivers folder in windows rather than download it, and then transfer it to ubuntu? Or is there another way?

Please help

Thank you in advance.
    Last edited by campb.andrew; December 8th, 2010 at 02:46 AM. Reason: Change of title

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: B43legacy driver install

Let's make sure what you have and then we'll decide what you need and how to install it. Please open Applications > Accessories > Terminal and type, exactly as I have it here:
    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep -i 14e4
    Press Enter. It will spit out some details about your Broadcom wireless card. Jot them down and post all the details here.