Page 23 of 25 FirstFirst ... 132122232425 LastLast
Results 221 to 230 of 242

Thread: Introducing Fuduntu

  1. #221
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Beans
    22

    Re: Introducing Fuduntu

    This seems rather nice, just tried out the livecd, very smooth distro indeed, nice one!

    Only thing that I'm gutted about is wireless doesn't work out of the box (realtek 8191) just like fedora 15, not sure how much of a faff it is to get working so I'll leave it for when I have more time

  2. #222

    Re: Introducing Fuduntu

    Quote Originally Posted by shuttleworthwannabe View Post
    Hi Fuduntu, downloaded the ISO and installed the x64 bit on my Dell Vostro 3700 (nvidia gfroce gt 330m).
    I tried installing broadcom from the repo's and it does this flawlessly--have to reboot for it to take.
    But as for the nvidia drivers, the ones (akmod-nvidia) listed in the repo's do not take--the system just froze while Iwas installing; and then had to hard reboot. Would not go beyond the boot throbber. Any suggestions?
    BTW, the LiveDVD runs well, and congrats for making this version. It is so snappy.

    Regards
    swb
    WOW, that's weird. We don't have a lot of testers to help test the NVidia and ATI chipset drivers. About the best we can do is test it on one of my desktops where it seems to work fine. It shouldn't hang during installation though, sometimes it takes a few minutes to compile the kernel module.

    I'll check and see if there are newer versions.
    [ Fuduntu.org ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Fuduntu Blog ] - [ Fuduntu Wiki ]

    For a classic desktop with the latest apps, get Fuduntu!

  3. #223
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Beans
    841
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Introducing Fuduntu

    Ok new problem---I reinstalled. Now I can't even install broadcom wl drivers.
    # yum install kmod-wl
    Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
    Adding en_US to language list
    Setting up Install Process
    Resolving Dependencies
    --> Running transaction check
    ---> Package kmod-wl.x86_64 0:5.100.82.38-8 set to be installed
    --> Processing Dependency: kmod-wl-2.6.39-1.fc14.x86_64 >= 5.100.82.38-8 for package: kmod-wl-5.100.82.38-8.x86_64
    --> Running transaction check
    ---> Package kmod-wl-2.6.39-1.fc14.x86_64.x86_64 0:5.100.82.38-8 set to be installed
    --> Processing Dependency: kernel-uname-r = 2.6.39-1.fc14.x86_64 for package: kmod-wl-2.6.39-1.fc14.x86_64-5.100.82.38-8.x86_64
    --> Processing Dependency: wl-kmod-common >= 5.100.82.38 for package: kmod-wl-2.6.39-1.fc14.x86_64-5.100.82.38-8.x86_64
    --> Running transaction check
    ---> Package broadcom-wl.noarch 0:5.100.82.38-8 set to be installed
    ---> Package kernel.x86_64 0:2.6.39-1.fc14 set to be installed
    --> Finished Dependency Resolution

    Dependencies Resolved

    ================================================== ==============================
    Package Arch Version Repository Size
    ================================================== ==============================
    Installing:
    kmod-wl x86_64 5.100.82.38-8 fuduntu 8.5 k
    Installing for dependencies:
    broadcom-wl noarch 5.100.82.38-8 fuduntu 14 k
    kernel x86_64 2.6.39-1.fc14 fuduntu 23 M
    kmod-wl-2.6.39-1.fc14.x86_64 x86_64 5.100.82.38-8 fuduntu 687 k

    Transaction Summary
    ================================================== ==============================
    Install 4 Package(s)

    Total size: 24 M
    Installed size: 112 M
    Is this ok [y/N]: y
    Downloading Packages:
    Running rpm_check_debug
    Running Transaction Test


    Transaction Check Error:
    package kernel-2.6.39.1-1.fc14.x86_64 (which is newer than kernel-2.6.39-1.fc14.x86_64) is already installed

    Error Summary
    -------------
    Same error for kmod-nvidia

    Any help?
    Howzit! 8) Ubuntu User #21505 Registered Linux user #408849

  4. #224

    Re: Introducing Fuduntu

    Quote Originally Posted by shuttleworthwannabe View Post
    Ok new problem---I reinstalled. Now I can't even install broadcom wl drivers.


    Same error for kmod-nvidia

    Any help?
    Code:
    yum install akmod-wl akmod-nvidia
    [ Fuduntu.org ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Fuduntu Blog ] - [ Fuduntu Wiki ]

    For a classic desktop with the latest apps, get Fuduntu!

  5. #225
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Beans
    841
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Introducing Fuduntu

    Yup, it is downloading now. Will give you some feedback.

    Also, I noticed there is no OpenOffice/LibreOffice; anyway to install this through Terminal?
    Howzit! 8) Ubuntu User #21505 Registered Linux user #408849

  6. #226
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Introducing Fuduntu

    Quote Originally Posted by shuttleworthwannabe View Post
    Yup, it is downloading now. Will give you some feedback.

    Also, I noticed there is no OpenOffice/LibreOffice; anyway to install this through Terminal?
    su -c "yum groupinstall "Office/Productivity""

  7. #227
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Beans
    841
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Introducing Fuduntu

    yum install akmod-wl and -nvidia worked perfectly. On reboot, the boot splash was different, but eventually loaded the desktop. On login, the screen dpi was set to 107 instead of 96. so fonts were larger than usual.

    Wireless is working fine now.

    Thanks
    Will give Fuduntu 14.10 a whirl now and see if it sticks with me. I like so far!

    Swb
    Howzit! 8) Ubuntu User #21505 Registered Linux user #408849

  8. #228
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Beans
    841
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Introducing Fuduntu

    Firefox 5 just released--any way of installing this in Fuduntu 14.10? I have 3.6.17 from repo right now.
    So far all is good in Fuduntu--love it.
    Howzit! 8) Ubuntu User #21505 Registered Linux user #408849

  9. #229
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    234
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome

    Re: Introducing Fuduntu

    I'm impressed with 14.10. It installs flawlessly (unlike Fedora, which Fuduntu replaced on my Desktop).

    It looks a lot like Ubuntu.

    I had a problem with software update after the initial boot. I used the terminal to update packages. After that software update worked fine.

    It's refreshing to see a distro that just works out of the box. No crashes or freezes. Are you listening, Fedora?

    For Gnome Legacy, consider Fuduntu 14.10.

    I still think Ubuntu puts out a superior product, in all its variations.
    Edit:
    I think Lubuntu is faster. Fuduntu is about as fast as Lucid Lynx. Still working great!
    Last edited by ubume2; July 9th, 2011 at 06:49 PM.

  10. #230
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Down Under
    Beans
    1,566
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Introducing Fuduntu

    Quote Originally Posted by wiiija View Post
    This seems rather nice, just tried out the livecd, very smooth distro indeed, nice one!

    Only thing that I'm gutted about is wireless doesn't work out of the box (realtek 8191) just like fedora 15, not sure how much of a faff it is to get working so I'll leave it for when I have more time
    I like the look of it, but I'm wondering if you can use realtek RTL8191SE wireless as you can in Ubuntu ?
    Last edited by Rodney9; July 11th, 2011 at 01:20 AM.

Page 23 of 25 FirstFirst ... 132122232425 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •