Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: GRUB2 ISO boot from ext4 AMD64

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    5

    GRUB2 ISO boot from ext4 AMD64

    I've asked a solution and read a good one for ext2, but it does not work in my ext4 AMD64.
    It is in spanish, you can translate with google translate or any other or even read only the commands.

    http://usemoslinux.blogspot.com/2010...esde.html#more

    In ext2, more or less the entry must be

    menuentry "Lubuntu Live" {
    set root=(hd0,5)
    loopback loop /vbox/lubuntu-10.10.iso
    linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/vbox/lubuntu-10.10.iso --
    initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }

    but in ext4, it gives me an error of

    file not found
    you must load kernel first
    even i changed, after an ls in GRUB the hd0.5 by hd0.msdos5, in my case hd0.msdos1, but with upper simple commas as in the main kernel entry.

    I think there would be an easy way of adding ISO rescue - or prove - images to GRUB menu from the program in system/administration/boot manager, but in the meantime, a section in GRUB ubuntu main page explaining how to do this in ext2 - as I post - and in ext4 - as I ask someone to explain me how to do -


    My 40_custom, where only works Ubuntu entry is:



    #!/bin/sh

    exec tail -n +3 $0

    # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the

    # menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change

    # the 'exec tail' line above.



    menuentry "Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.35-23-generic" --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {

    recordfail

    insmod part_msdos

    insmod ext2

    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'

    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set c617a74c-d199-49fc-997e-77ebbe33a8bb

    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-23-generic root=UUID=c617a74c-d199-49fc-997e-77ebbe33a8bb ro quiet splash nomodeset # video=uvesafb:mode_option=>>1024x768-24<<,mtrr=3,scroll=ywrap

    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-23-generic

    }

    menuentry "Rescatux" {

    recordfail

    insmod part_msdos

    insmod ext2

    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'

    loopback loop /isos/rescatux.iso

    linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper locale=es_ES bootkbd=es console-setup/layoutcode=es quiet splash iso-scan/filename=/isos/rescatux.iso --

    initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz

    }



    menuentry "rescatux2" {

    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'

    loopback loop /isos/rescatux.iso

    linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/isos/rescatux.iso --

    initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz

    }

  2. #2
    dino99's Avatar
    dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: GRUB2 ISO boot from ext4 AMD64

    Do not know if lubuntu is set up for loop mouting.


    Direct boot on hard drive:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1549847
    Boot ISO from harddrive. To install it would have to be different partition
    [SOLVED] Using grub 2 to boot an iso off hard drive
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1535864

    This worked for Maverick ISO on harddrive in hd0,5, but hd0,5 was really sdc5 as I boot sdc. I prefer the set isofile style as it seems a little cleaner.
    Code:
    menuentry "Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick ISO 64bit" {
        set isofile="/boot/ISO/maverick-desktop-amd64.iso"
     
        loopback loop (hd0,5)$isofile 
        linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=$isofile nomodeset
        initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    5

    Re: GRUB2 ISO boot from ext4 AMD64

    Thanks, I tried with burg that has a similar sintaxis than normal grub , because my grub put msdos1 as the partition number hd(0,msdos1) and it did not work, I'll keep trying. But I think the problem resides in that my boot partition is ext4 istead of ext2 and I must do anything different.

    I will try to put
    insmod ext2
    but it did not work for the other methods I tried


    this is my normal entry, but is not the case:


    menuentry 'Ubuntu GNU/Linux, with Linux 2.6.35-23-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os --group group_main {
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set c617a74c-d199-49fc-997e-77ebbe33a8bb
    echo 'Loading Linux 2.6.35-23-generic ...'
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.35-23-generic root=UUID=c617a74c-d199-49fc-997e-77ebbe33a8bb ro quiet splash
    echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.35-23-generic
    }

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: GRUB2 ISO boot from ext4 AMD64

    I got those kind of error messages whenever I had the path incorrect. Are you referring to the correct drive, partition, then you have to from / have exact path.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GRUB2 ISO boot from ext4 AMD64

    I just put an entry for Lubuntu in my ISO submenu and it worked properly. As with oldfred think it is an address problem. I don't have a Maverick version to test.

    The ISO is stored on sdb6 in /iso
    menuentry 'Lubuntu ISO sdb6' {
    loopback loop (hd1,6)/iso/lubuntu-10.04.iso
    linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/iso/lubuntu-10.04.iso noprompt noeject
    initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
    }
    Last edited by drs305; December 3rd, 2010 at 05:45 PM. Reason: No Maverick.
    GRUB2

    Retired.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •