Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Install Internet Explorer

Beans

Install Internet Explorer

Hi,
    Im very new to Linux and Ubuntu.
    Anybody can guide me to install Internet Explorer in Ubuntu 10.04. Im try to install IEs4Linux-2.99.0 but get this error message:

"Downloading everything we need
    Downloading from microsoft.com:
    0% IE7-WindowsXP-x86-enu.exe
    Downloading from Evolt Browser Archive:
    0% ie55sp2_9x.zip!! Could not find a suitable Evolt mirror"

The process while installing.

Please guide me if there is any other way to install Internet Explorer in Ubuntu. I really need it. Thank you.

Beans

Re: Install Internet Explorer

You can install the Internet Explorer with PlayOnLinux.

Beans

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Quote Originally Posted by handy View Post
    You can install it with winetricks also:

http://wiki.winehq.org/winetricks
    I just installed ie8 using winetricks but IE just kept freezing. I then installed ie6 & ie6_full but again IE still wouldn't work. I finally have ie7 working however is there a way to have flash/java to work as well?
    I ran winetricks flash and it says it installed successfully but ie7 still isn't using flash

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by emoguitarist06 View Post
    I just installed ie8 using winetricks but IE just kept freezing. I then installed ie6 & ie6_full but again IE still wouldn't work. I finally have ie7 working however is there a way to have flash/java to work as well?
    I ran winetricks flash and it says it installed successfully but ie7 still isn't using flash
    I can't help you as I don't need to use any of the IEs.

I made the post in an effort to help the OP as they may not have known about winetricks being new to Linux & all. I hoped that winetricks would provide an easy solution to the problem...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Check out the Wine Application database for Internet Explorer
    The recommended Wine supported version is IE6