Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Assassins creed 2 + wine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    19

    Assassins creed 2 + wine

    Hello all, i recently obtained assassins creed 2 and installed wine 1.3. I installed assassins creed no sweat but when i go to launch it i see the ubisoft splash screen for a second than it goes to a black screen. I can hear the game audio when i press different arrow keys, but still black screen. There are a couple reasons i think may be causing it.

    1) im using dual monitors and on any website if i maximize a video it will throw it to my secondary monitor (my main monitor is set as my primary =/) and asasssins creed 2 opens in full screen mode.
    2) something in wine is not configured correctly?
    3) I have pretty much all the desktop eye candy on, 3d desktop cube, wobbly windows, skydome, etc... perhaps its interfering with assassins creed?

    any and all help is greatly appreciated =)

    p.s i did check to see if it works with wine and it does.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Indian Capital City
    Beans
    886
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Assassins creed 2 + wine

    This link says that it runs very bad, not sure though

    http://www.youtube.com/user/Jakejw93...25/2cI743cJ1iw
    When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth !!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Mark it [SOLVED] if the issue has been resolved

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Assassins creed 2 + wine

    try running wine in a virtual desktop(applications>wine>configure wine >graphics tab>Emulate a virtual desktop)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    19

    Re: Assassins creed 2 + wine

    thats assassins creed 1, but thank you for the very, very fast reply! under the winehq database assassins creed 2 is said to run well under wine 1.3

    Edit: @ Verbeck ill give that a go =)
    Last edited by Flips30240; November 21st, 2010 at 11:43 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    19

    Re: Assassins creed 2 + wine

    i have the emulate a virtual desktop ticked but it doesnt emulate the desktop lol. any resolution you recommend?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: Assassins creed 2 + wine

    Hi, I too am having a problem running Assassins Creed 2 with Wine

    The issue is explained here ( http://ubisoft-en.custhelp.com/app/a...3964/related/1 ) in windows lingo and being brand new to Ubuntu..... I just can't translate it so to speak.

    I do know is there is no proxy server involved, it doesn't appear to be a firewall issue.

    Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers from Croc Country.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    105

    Re: Assassins creed 2 + wine

    I had a problem getting it to work, I finally was succefull when using playonlinux and installing the game from it and not via steam. The game is very good looking, but it's a bit laggy on 1920x1080.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,628
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Assassins creed 2 + wine

    Thread closed. Please do not post in old threads.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •