Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cannot connect HTC Android phone via Internet Pass through

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Unhappy Cannot connect HTC Android phone via Internet Pass through

I have just bought a HTC Desire Z mobile phone, running Android 2.2.

It has a feature to allow, via the USB cable, use of the Internet connection on a PC so that the phone can connect via that, rather than use the 3G or wi fi when those are not available or not wanting to use them. I want to download lots of applications without draining my 3G data allowance.

I have searched via Google, and some people have said that it just worked for them. They plugged in the phone to their Ubuntu PC and they could use the Internet on the phone.

But I cannot get it to work. I am new to Android, and still figuring out the phone. In the Settings/Wireless & Networks, there is an option for Internet Pass-through, which is trying to connect but never does. Then it comes up with a message saying:
    "Unable to connect to PC" and asks me to install HTC Sync software (which is Windows only).

Is there something I need to install in Ubuntu to get it to work?
    There is a fine line between genius and insanity

Beans

Re: Cannot connect HTC Android phone via Internet Pass through

Same problem here. Interestingly it doesnt work. Many people do it automatically... :-/

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Unhappy Re: Cannot connect HTC Android phone via Internet Pass through

Same here. I use Ubuntu Karmic on my laptop and Android Froyo on my HTC Desire Z, but I can't use Pass-throgh feature to connect my HTC on the Internet by using a wired ADSL connection from my Ubuntu. It warns me that my firewall could cause the issue, but it's the same even if I disable the firewall (sudo ufw disable) on my Ubuntu Karmic. Is there any solution for this?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Cool Re: Cannot connect HTC Android phone via Internet Pass through