Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46

Thread: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Yes, it is mounted, I can see the icon there and running the first command said that it is already mounted. However, I still cannot run the chroot command (same error).

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Quote Originally Posted by lifelike27 View Post
    Yes, it is mounted, I can see the icon there and running the first command said that it is already mounted. However, I still cannot run the chroot command (same error).
    Is the disk the same 32bit or 64 bit that you are running
    on your machine. The only way I can reproduce is using 32 bit on 64 bit or vice versa. Only 1 32 bit install so?
    other wise can chroot into 5 different installs.
    Last edited by garvinrick4; November 10th, 2010 at 09:13 AM.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Code:
    sudo chroot /media/root /bin/sh
    puts you into root also. How ya doin.
    Last edited by garvinrick4; November 10th, 2010 at 08:58 AM.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Nope, that last command didn't work either. Same error.

    I believe they are both 64bit. The Live CD... should be.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Going to see if I can get a mod to see if cure for the chroot command, seems to be in googling alot. First time happened to me. Got to be a command for it by now. See ya few minutes.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Alrighty, I'm just going to hang around with my buddy Google.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Quote Originally Posted by lifelike27 View Post
    Alrighty, I'm just going to hang around with my buddy Google.
    Asked a Mod by the name of artificial inteligence to see if he had a cure
    for that error message.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Ran the whole code string on 2 different installs and worked like it is suppose to.
    It is tried and true code not anything that I made up. I only use stuff that has been
    known to work and I have tried on my own machines. I feel bad it is taking so long
    to find out what your error code in chroot means. I am sticking around also.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Thanks a lot. I really appreciate it! =)

    But if you have to, you can always find out tomorrow. I have a backup system that'll last me a few days.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Troubleshooting

    [edit] Exec format error

    If the chroot command returns with the error "chroot: cannot run command `/bin/bash': Exec format error", this usually indicates that the livecd environment is not compatible with that of the installed system.
    For example, the error is most frequently seen when trying to chroot to a 64-bit system (eg. amd64) from a 32-bit livecd (eg. x86).
    The solution is to use a livecd which is using the same architecture as the installed system.

    This is what I get but can you do me a favor if you are still around: Post this for me please. This is going to bug me till fix is in.
    Code:
    sudo parted -l
    lower case L

    Code:
    uname -a
    Tell you 64 or 32 bit.
    Last edited by garvinrick4; November 10th, 2010 at 09:38 AM.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •