Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46

Thread: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    So if I run 'update-grub' in the live CD of ubuntu, it would work for my installed version of Ubuntu?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Quote Originally Posted by lifelike27 View Post
    So if I run 'update-grub' in the live CD of ubuntu, it would work for my installed version of Ubuntu?
    You would have to give me the output of
    the (sudo fdisk -l) (earlier post) so we can chroot(get into root) into your install and update grub and remove plymouth and reinstall a new package from repositories. That is the only way I have ever had any success at updating grub in a particular install and making new config file in live cd.
    Last edited by garvinrick4; November 10th, 2010 at 03:55 AM.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Alright I need you to explain it to me in a bit more detail how I'd get around to fixing this. I really don't know much about Ubuntu.

    Sorry I didn't see the part about the fdisk command earlier:

    Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x4600c452

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 5 40131 de Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2 * 6 2300 18432000 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 2300 15354 104856576 83 Linux
    /dev/sda4 15354 60802 365054976 7 HPFS/NTFS

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Well if you say it was when you used startup manager and changed resolution to 1600x1200 and then attempted edit a plymouth file. So we fix those 2 things.
    To get into root in live cd because it will not boot and update the grub takes some commands in terminal, you have make directories and mount a few things and then
    get into root and then we can repair the objects that are broken.
    I would put the resolution at 800x600 to start with because that we will say works most
    all the time. Can change after you can boot into your system.

    #In live cd go to Places and to your linux install and mount your Linux partition as before.
    Then hit Alt/F2 and box will open and type in gksudo nautilus and hit enter.
    That will open file system in root so you can change and save.
    Click on your Linux partition on left side of Window that opens and open file system and navigate
    /etc/default/grub
    change to 800x600 and hit save in upper left. As below is mine at 1024x768:

    # The resolution used on graphical terminal
    # note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
    # you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
    GRUB_GFXMODE=1024x768

    Have to be in root to save file is why we do the "gksudo nautilus" part:
    After saving you close everything and open a terminal and make sure your internet connection in upper right is connected and in next post will give you the commands to
    chroot into system and update your grub and remove and reinstall plymouth.
    Will be maybe 10 commands just copy and paste into terminal one at a time.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Code:
    Your Linux install is sda3: These commands one at a time:
                        
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/root
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/root/proc
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/root/dev
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/root/etc
    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/sda3 /media/root
    Code:
    sudo mount -o bind /proc /media/root/proc
    Code:
    sudo mount -o bind /dev /media/root/dev
    Code:
    sudo mount -o bind /dev/pts /media/root/dev/pts
    Code:
    sudo cp /etc/resolv.conf /media/root/etc/resolv.conf
    Code:
    sudo chroot /media/root
    Code:
    apt-get remove plymouth
    Code:
    apt-get install plymouth
    Code:
    apt-get -f install
    Code:
    dpkg --configure -a
    Code:
    update-grub
    Code:
    exit
    Code:
    sudo umount /media/root/dev/pts
    Code:
    sudo umount /media/root/dev
    Code:
    sudo umount /media/root/proc
    Code:
    sudo umount /media/root/etc
    Code:
    sudo umount /media/root
    Boot back into Hard drive Ubuntu:
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    Last edited by garvinrick4; November 11th, 2010 at 10:57 PM. Reason: We had problem: must use same 32 bit or 64 bit live CD.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    At the command: sudo chroot /media/root

    I get the error: chroot: failed to run command `/bin/bash': Exec format error

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Typing: chroot --help

    Gives: Usage: chroot [OPTION] NEWROOT [COMMAND [ARG]...]
    or: chroot OPTION
    Run COMMAND with root directory set to NEWROOT.

    --userspec=USER:GROUP specify user and group (ID or name) to use
    --groups=G_LIST specify supplementary groups as g1,g2,..,gN
    --help display this help and exit
    --version output version information and exit

    If no command is given, run ``${SHELL} -i'' (default: /bin/sh).

    Report chroot bugs to bug-coreutils@gnu.org
    GNU coreutils home page: <http://www.gnu.org/software/coreutils/>
    General help using GNU software: <http://www.gnu.org/gethelp/>
    For complete documentation, run: info coreutils 'chroot invocation'


    Don't know if that's any help...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    I will explain the code to you later: It is not difficult to understand, you just have to mount certain things then run a few commands then unmount them. (umount is not a typo in code)
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    I don't have a problem understanding it, it's just the error I'm getting from running that command.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Is the partition mounted on your desktop: Can you see the partition on desktop(should be)
    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/sda3 /media/root
    was the command to mount.
    Code:
    sudo chroot /media/root
    is the chroot command:
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •