Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46

Thread: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    First of all, I'm a ubuntu noob. I'm familiar with it, but that's all.

    I tried changing my plymouth splash screen but it just ended up becoming pixelated so I reverted back to the original one. Now the original splash screen became pixelated as well.

    Using Start-up Manager, the options I changed were:
    - Checked 'Show boot splash'
    - Changed the display resolution to '1600x1200'

    After restarting I can't start up Ubuntu anymore. =\

    I really need to get it back and running WITHOUT formatting of any sort because I can't re-install Ubuntu.

    I'm a student living on-campus and there's only wireless. When installing Ubuntu I have to download my Broadcom drivers with an ethernet cable and all. Not possible here...

    I'm running 10.10 on it.

    Help is EXTREMELY appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Quote Originally Posted by lifelike27 View Post
    First of all, I'm a ubuntu noob. I'm familiar with it, but that's all.

    I tried changing my plymouth splash screen but it just ended up becoming pixelated so I reverted back to the original one. Now the original splash screen became pixelated as well.

    Using Start-up Manager, the options I changed were:
    - Checked 'Show boot splash'
    - Changed the display resolution to '1600x1200'

    After restarting I can't start up Ubuntu anymore. =\

    I really need to get it back and running WITHOUT formatting of any sort because I can't re-install Ubuntu.

    I'm a student living on-campus and there's only wireless. When installing Ubuntu I have to download my Broadcom drivers with an ethernet cable and all. Not possible here...

    I'm running 10.10 on it.

    Help is EXTREMELY appreciated!
    It gets to boot menu and you choose Ubuntu and what does it do after that.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Quote Originally Posted by garvinrick4 View Post
    It gets to boot menu and you choose Ubuntu and what does it do after that.
    It says that my graphics card or screen couldn't be detected and that I would need to configure it myself. However, it freezes at that and I'm unable to click the Ok button.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    You had a working system before you changed your resolution to 1600x1200?
    The plymouth theme you tried to install was one of the Ubuntu themes?
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    No it wasn't.

    I'm pretty sure it wasn't the theme that messed up my system. Since it was working fine before, it just had a bad looking splash screen. It only stopped working after I tried changing it.

    Previously, I changed settings by editing the default.plymouth file. It wouldn't fix the pixelating problem, but I never had any problems like this. Only after I used the Start-Up Manager instead of editing, this happened...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Put in your install Cd and boot off of it and choose try ubuntu.
    When it boots go to places and mount your linux partition open it
    and go to files system. to path /etc/default/grub
    Look here and see what it says: Post it.

    # The resolution used on graphical terminal
    # note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
    # you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
    GRUB_GFXMODE=1024x768

    Post your output of :
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    lower case L
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    If that has to be changed it has to also have to update-grub to make it save:
    Which means we have to use the Live CD to chroot (get into root) into your Ubuntu partition so leave it in and work ubuntu forums off of it.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    181
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    I checked it and it turns out, the last time I edited that file, I put the resolution to 1366x768 (i.e. my resolution).

    I changed it back and still isn't working. I think I need some way of recompiling plymouth.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    You have to update-grub after you edit or it does no good. Everytime you change you have to update grub
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    4,459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I messed with Plymouth and now I'm paying for it...

    Quote Originally Posted by lifelike27 View Post
    I checked it and it turns out, the last time I edited that file, I put the resolution to 1366x768 (i.e. my resolution).

    I changed it back and still isn't working. I think I need some way of recompiling plymouth.
    plymouth you can always remove then reinstall new plymouth package.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:
    http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/index_main.html
    Main Page -

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •