Thread: Cloud - Newbie Questions

Beans

Cloud - Newbie Questions

Hi All,

I'm new to cloud computing as i'm sure most people are and I'm trying to get my head around the distribution of resources.

Now I understand you have a "Controller Node" and "Slave Nodes" much like a traditional cluster

Assuming I have
    Server 1: Controller with 500GB Storage
    Server 2: Node with 1TB Storage
    Server 3: Node with 500GB Storage

I would like to know

A) Is the storage of Server 2 and Server 3 available to the Controller (and thus it's users)
    If this is the case is it seemless? (ie would a user only talk to the controller and it would dictate what the user could access)

B) Say I want to Run an apache server and a mysql server - how do these run? do they run on the nodes or the controller?

C) If the answer to B is the Node - do users who want to access a particular service presented by a node access the node directly or the controller?

So if apache is running on Server 2 port 80, and the user connects to Server 1 Port 80 - is the request relayed to Server 2?

D) If the answer to B is the Controller - is this similar to a normal cluster where as the "processing" it just pushed onto the relevant machines?

----------------

In Summary I want to build a scalable "Cluster" / "Cloud" solution where the primary services are Samba, Apache, mySQL, FTP and also VMWare Server

I would prefer a solution where I can also scale the disk space so instead of upgrading a single machine I can attach dedicated storage servers and the available space includes this

Sorry if this seems a bit thick i'm trying to get my head around it and so far documentation and other forums have been little to no help - only telling me how great it is and how it does this or that but not actually telling me how this or that are achieved and the end result for my users.

Kind regards
    James

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Cloud - Newbie Questions