Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: touchpad erratic hp pavilion dm4

Beans

Unhappy touchpad erratic hp pavilion dm4

Hello,

I'm brand new to linux, a long-time mac user and hoping to get away from Apple. I have an HP pavilion dm4 and have installed 64-bit ubuntu 10.10.

The touchpad works fine in Win7 but is totally erratic in Ubuntu. If I put more than one finger on the touchpad, the cursor jumps all over the place erratically and randomly submits clicks. The right-click function of the touchpad also doesn't work.

In the mouse settings, the option for multi-touch is greyed out, but the touchpad is obviously still registering multi-touch info.

I've tried installing gsynaptics, but that doesn't help. I've also tried a few scripts provided by other people for enabling multi-touch when the option is greyed out, but that doesn't help. I've also tried uninstalling and reinstalling the synaptics xorg touchpad driver with no luck.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

Beans

Re: touchpad erratic hp pavilion dm4

Well I found your post looking for a solution to my own problems with Ubuntu 10.10(Maverick).

In my case right-double click was my main problem, and also some randoms left click by just putting my fingers in the touchpad, and I was able to fixed by going to System/Preferences/Mouse/Touchpad and de-selecting "Enable mouse clicks with the touchpad". I think the problem is that for some reason after a clean install, the touchpad got way more sensitive, I'm using third party drivers for my GMA500(Poulsbo) chipset, so I don't know is I should report this as a bug.

My laptop is a Dell Mini 10, with left and right clicks that you need to push down in the touchpad. It gonna take me some time to adapt to do the push down, but in the end will be better as this method is way less error prone.

Hope it helps.
    Carlos

Beans