Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Change default runlevel in Lucid 10.04.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    9

    Change default runlevel in Lucid 10.04.1

    Thanks Canonical for taking away inittab.

    How can I change the default runlevel so that X doesn't start at boot? All searches through the Ubuntu documentation refers to inittab, but they took it away darnit.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Change default runlevel in Lucid 10.04.1

    First of all , Ubuntu uses upstart

    http://upstart.ubuntu.com/

    With upstart the idea of a runlevel will soon be depreciated, although runlevels are still emulated, they likely will go away as more and more services are converted to upstart.

    Second runlevels 2,3,4, and 5 have always been the same on Ubuntu dating as far back as Ubuntu 4.10. Ubuntu does not use runlevels the same as the distro you came from.

    And to make matters worse, there are no tools to manage services any longer, graphical or command line.

    I would edit /etc/init/gdm.conf and change the line "stop on runlevel [016]" to "stop on runlevel[0126]"

    "runlevel" 2 is the default for Ubuntu.
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    9

    Re: Change default runlevel in Lucid 10.04.1

    Thanks for the reply. I'll read through that link when I have some time.

    Having tools to manage and configure services is almost a must. Especially with this departure from the norm for Linux. Although I've never seen many GUI tools that really worked well (in Linux).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Change default runlevel in Lucid 10.04.1

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxdave1 View Post
    Thanks for the reply. I'll read through that link when I have some time.
    Upstart is a big bite when you first read up on it. With that said, it is popular and Fedora is using upstart in F13 and 14

    Having tools to manage and configure services is almost a must. Especially with this departure from the norm for Linux. Although I've never seen many GUI tools that really worked well (in Linux).
    +1. The graphical tools tend to work well, at least in Fedora. They used to work well in Ubuntu as well.

    I am sure they will come back, hopefully soon.
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Change default runlevel in Lucid 10.04.1

    While bodhi.zazen's suggestion should work, booting with the text kernel parameter will also prevent display managers managed by Upstart (e.g. gdm, kdm and lxdm) from being started at boot time.

    If you are using Grub2, then in /etc/default/grub replace:
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
    with
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash text"
    then run:
    Code:
    sudo update-grub
    Remove splash to disable the splash screen and/or quiet to make the boot process verbose.

    If you wish to create a separate boot option for the text and GUI mode then check out this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    9

    Re: Change default runlevel in Lucid 10.04.1

    Thanks for that info Sisco. If I change grub, will I be able to startx later?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Change default runlevel in Lucid 10.04.1

    Quote Originally Posted by linuxdave1 View Post
    If I change grub, will I be able to startx later?
    Of course, why would you not be able to startx later?
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Cheektowaga, NY, US
    Beans
    7
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Change default runlevel in Lucid 10.04.1

    Quote Originally Posted by bodhi.zazen View Post
    Of course, why would you not be able to startx later?
    true...even easier to me, as the superuser (e.g., root), enter in "start gdm" to bring up the graphical login subsystem as if you didn't add "text" to the boot command line. And use either gdm-stop or stop gdm if you want it gone again.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •