Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Windows licenses and Virtualbox

Beans

Windows licenses and Virtualbox

Hi all,

Sorry if this is an obvious question, but I either don't understand something that is obvious to everyone else about Windows or else I just can't find the answer I'm looking for...

Background: I'm a 20+ year Mac user, switched four years ago to Linux. I have NO experience with Windows to speak of. Whenever I've gotten a new box, it's either been home-built or a Mac.

Now I have a new Acer Aspire AS7551 laptop, and although I have not yet booted into Windows, it comes with a Windows 7 Home Premium license. I've been running it with Ubuntu 10.04 off a flash drive and everything works perfectly.

What I want to do: I want to wipe the disk, install Lucid, and run Windows in Virtualbox (for the sole purpose of watching some Netflix and learning a little bit about Windows 7).

For the purpose of this question, please accept that I DO NOT want to dual boot.

The problem: From what I can find, I can't use the "recovery discs" that came with my laptop to create a virtual machine. This is confusing, because it seems like I paid for a legitimate Windows license for use with this laptop.

Questions:

1. Would MS exchange my recovery discs for a regular install disc to go with my license code if I explained this to them? Have any of you tried this (the "reasonable approach")?

2. If not, is there a source for Windows ISOs that I can safely use with my license? (I am aware that the legitimacy of that approach is questionable, but I am quite comfortable with the ethics since I paid for Windows 7, own the license, and only want to use it on the same computer. If you disapprove, I agree to disagree with you and maybe you can help with the next question).

3. If not, is there any way in heck I can use my recovery disc to create something Virtualbox can work with?

4. If not, how are all of you people getting your Windows virtual machines going??

Thanks.