Thread: A few questions.

Beans

A few questions.

Hello, I'm new to using Ubuntu and so far I'm loving it, but I have a few questions.
    First of all, I'd like to install Windows 7 on my laptop (which currently has the latest version of Ubuntu installed) some time in the future, as well as create a few partitions to store files on without either system being effected. But before that I made the mistake of installing Ubuntu with another Ubuntu installation creating two partitions (luckily my data was still stored on the /home/username folder). I moved my files to the newer installation then formatted the other partition (to ext4), but apparently 6GBs or so were still used by the formatted partition. I then moved my files back to that partition. Now, every time I startup my PC, I have to choose which system to boot in (even though I formatted the partition with the older Ubuntu installation). To be on the safe side and not cause any errors or damage to the PC, I haven't tried booting the PC with the older system.
    Here's my current partition layout (according to the System->Adminstration->Disk Utility):
    1. 159GB ext4 (the one with my files on it)
    2. 79GB ext4 (the one with my system on it)
    3. 3.4GB swap
    4. 8.5GB swap
    5. 91GB "extended" (What is that? It clearly exceeds the 250GB disk space)
    Now, here's how I want my 250GB harddisk to be partitioned:
    1. A 7.5GB partition for my Ubuntu installation
    2. A 20GB partition for my Windows installation
    3. A 40GB partition for my Windows games and applications
    4. A partition taking up the rest of the harddisk's space for other uses (and swap space, whatever that is)
    How can I achieve that without losing any of the files that I have, knowing that I don't have an external harddisk?
    Also, do you have any pointers on improving a computer's speed and performance with Ubuntu installed on it?

Beans

Re: A few questions.