Thread: Freeze problem

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Freeze problem

Hello all,

I am in this extremely annoying situation that my pc freezes and nothing can be done but hard reboot. I apologize in advance if this thing is brought up before and for the length of my post. I have found a lot of interesting relevant stuff like https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Troubleshooting/Freeze and http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=201964 but couldn't resolve it.
    I am new in Linux and already my main choice of OS.

I have Ubuntu 10.04, fully updated. Runs on an ASUS P5Q (listed in Ubuntu compatible m/b's) with ATI Radeon 4800 (don't know if relevant). In the last week approximately, I have realized that in seemingly random times the system freezes. I am not absolutely sure if this was something that could have happened earlier on, but it just didn't occur. It appears that this started after some update. The interesting part is that it came to my attention that it is 100% certain that will freeze during a file synchronization analysis between usb hdds with Unison (!). This is something I didn't use to do, and of course I have never been able to complete since I have this situation.

After that, two things come to my mind. One is, I wonder why the sync process provokes this, and if has got anything to do with all things said about X freezes, ACPI or hardware acceleration. Second, I wonder how on earth I could locate the relevant updated packages and rollback. You see, last week I remember at least 4-5 updates with 5-10 packages updated. Running through the dpkg log doesn't help me a lot, the list is fairly big, and I believe for a result not exactly guaranteed.

I understand that my information is not sufficient, please advise for anything else needed. Dear community, I kindly ask for your help being stuck on this and not knowing how to get through.

Kind Regards

Beans

Re: Freeze problem