Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Prepare partitions does not show device

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Prepare partitions does not show device


  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Woonsocket, RI USA
    Beans
    3,195

    Re: Prepare partitions does not show device

    For some reason the kernel is detecting the disk, but it isn't detecting the partitions on the disk. The partitions seem to be valid in fdisk, though. I have some suggestions, but they're shots in the dark:


    • Connect the disk to a different SATA port on the motherboard. It's conceivable that there's something flaky about the one you're using.
    • Go into the BIOS and fiddle with SATA disk settings, such as AHCI mode options.
    • Use fdisk to repartition the disk. Use the "o" (lowercase letter "O") option to create a fresh partition table, then create new partitions on the disk.
    • Convert the disk from Master Boot Record (MBR) to GUID Partition Table (GPT) form. You can do this in GParted by selecting Device -> Create Partition table, then clicking the Advanced option and selecting "gpt" from the selection list. When you click Apply, the disk will use GPT. It's best to then create a BIOS Boot Partition for GRUB 2.
    • It's possible that there's a subtle hardware fault with the disk. Can you try another one?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Prepare partitions does not show device

    I tried all of them except changing the disk and it's not work. No other disks to try for now.

    The server version pass by the same insatallator ?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Woonsocket, RI USA
    Beans
    3,195

    Re: Prepare partitions does not show device

    Have you checked the drive's SMART status? If there's a hardware fault, it should show up that way. I'm not sure offhand what SMART utilities, if any, come with the Ubuntu CD that you can run in live CD mode, so I'm not sure offhand how you'd check this. You can probably find some instructions via a Web search.

    Aside from more hardware tests, my only suggestion at this point is to try another Linux distribution. You could do a quick test using something like PartedMagic or System Rescue CD, which are emergency systems you could use to see if another kernel/set of utilities can properly access the drive. In a more extreme way, you could try a newer or older Ubuntu or an entirely non-Ubuntu system (Fedora, OpenSUSE, Mandriva, or whatever). My thinking is that there could be some very weird and very specific bug in the kernel, udev, or some other tool that's causing Ubuntu 10.04 to fail to see the partitions on the drive.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Prepare partitions does not show device

    I tried the fedora distro and it's tell that the raid metadata was on my hd. I guess it comes from the previous installation. Now, I no more want to have it in raid.

    After installation of mdadm, I tried:

    Code:
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sda
    mdadm: Unrecognised md component device - /dev/sda
    I tried:

    Code:
    ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda bs=512 count=1024
    1024+0 records in
    1024+0 records out
    524288 bytes (524 kB) copied, 0.064707 s, 8.1 MB/s
    The ubuntu installer still does not see the drive.

    Is this suppose to remove the metadata ?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    France
    Beans
    590

    Smile Re: Prepare partitions does not show device

    Here is my hard disk image after the installation of Ubuntu :
    jean@jean:~$ fdisk -lu
    jean@jean:~$ sudo fdisk -lu

    Disque /dev/sda: 320.1 Go, 320072933376 octets
    255 têtes, 63 secteurs/piste, 38913 cylindres, total 625142448 secteurs
    Unités = secteurs de 1 * 512 = 512 octets
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Identifiant de disque : 0x000d6973

    Périphérique Amorce Début Fin Blocs Id Système
    /dev/sda1 * 2048 613826559 306912256 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 613828606 625141759 5656577 5 Etendue
    /dev/sda5 613828608 625141759 5656576 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    jean@jean:~$
    Ubuntu 10.04, Debian6 LXDE

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Prepare partitions does not show device

    To remove raid meta data, DO NOT run if you want to keep your RAID:

    Presence1960 on remove old raid setting from HD
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1325650
    sudo dmraid -E -r /dev/sda
    sudo dmraid -E -r /dev/sdb
    Also check BIOS for raid settings
    More discussion:
    http://wwww.ubuntuforums.org/showthr...38#post9274738
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair - Updated Mar 2015:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Maryland
    Beans
    1,537
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Prepare partitions does not show device

    Follow oldfred's advice. What you have is a 'fakeraid' where the disk had been previously used on a MB with a raid chip setup in bios. This has nothing to do with the mdadm software raid. But once used in a fakeraid disk set the data written to the meta data section of your disk will persist until explicitly erased. The dmraid application on the 10.10 live cd has to be used for that. Hopefully this will solve your problem.
    12.10 Quantal w/grub2/Mint13 installed on raid0, Gigabyte AMD MB, AMD 64x4 CPUs at 3.2GHz, 16 GB ram, HD7770 ATI video, dual boot win7 on 64gb ssd and win8 on 1Tb SATA raid. 13.04 installed on raid0 and ssd

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Prepare partitions does not show device

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    To remove raid meta data, DO NOT run if you want to keep your RAID:

    Presence1960 on remove old raid setting from HD
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1325650
    sudo dmraid -E -r /dev/sda
    sudo dmraid -E -r /dev/sdb
    Also check BIOS for raid settings
    More discussion:
    http://wwww.ubuntuforums.org/showthr...38#post9274738
    This fix my trouble. Ubuntu can now find my HD.

    Thank's everybody ! I'll enjoy it now !

    Guy.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •