Thread: Dell C840 WPA

Beans

Dell C840 WPA

Hello,

Cannot connect to my wireless through my card.

So forgive me for developing a thread for which there are already hundreds. I recently decided to bring my old Dell Latitude C840 laptop back to life with Ubuntu 10.04. I am a total linux beginner but it seemed like a fun exercise. Everything seems to work fine and the system runs great on the computer. I haven't explored too much but I can only connect to the internet directly through an Ethernet connection. The wireless card (Dell truemobile 1150) will find and display available networks but I cannot connect. It simply re-prompts for the password request.

I would appreciate anyone's help in a good thread that I can use to fix this problem (baring in mind that it should be reasonably followable). All the threads I come across either dont work, skip some step that seems obvious to the writer or assume I know something that I haven't yet discovered.

Thank you.

Taylor

Beans

Re: Dell C840 WPA

I have a similar problem with my new System76 laptop. At first, wireless worked fine, I could get to the internet, see other computers and the printer on my home network, but all at once, it stopped connecting automatically, and when I went through the manual setup, it claimed to be connected, but could not see the internet or the home network.

The Ubuntu version is 10.04, the CPU a 4-core AMD.

Can someone tell me how to re-install? The laptop came without an installed system, but with a setup program that once I chose time zone and language, then proceeded to install 10.04. How can I trigger a re-install??

jaa75

Beans

here is some info as I attempt to figure out what is going on:

taylor@taylor-laptop:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

eth1 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"g\xC6isQ\xFFJ\xEC)\xCD\xBA\xAB\xF2\xFB\xE3F |\xC2T\xF8\x1B\xE8\xE7\x8DvZ.c3\x9F\xC9\x9A"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.457 GHz Access Point: None