Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help with remote connectivity (desktop sharing)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 17.10 Artful Aardvark

Help with remote connectivity (desktop sharing)

Hey there!

I installed ubuntu 10.04 on my parents pc, and I need help to help them.

They are really normal users, but they have no knowledge about anything regarding the pc, so, in most cases, just to watch a movie we talk for hours to get VLC installed, or just to make a spreadsheet of somekind.

My question is, how can I make them (on the) phone to allow access to me via Remote Desktop, and what other information do I have to know about the Remote Desktop application.

The idea is, to make them click a few things and to send me a link where I will be able to access their pc, or any ideas.

I have never used the Remote Desktop before, so I can't even identify any problems with them on the phone

Thank you very much

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: need help to help my parents

I have found this is the easiest way to remote connect.

HTML Code:
    http://www.teamviewer.com/index.aspx
    it has to be installed on both computers and then an account set up on both computers. The application needs to be running and it gives you a user name/password to share with who you want to connect with. Then you can get into their computer.

acreech

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Quote Originally Posted by acreech View Post

HTML Code:
    it has to be installed on both computers and then an account set up on both computers. The application needs to be running and it gives you a user name/password to share with who you want to connect with. Then you can get into their computer.

acreech
    Looks a little expensive to me.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Teamviewer is free for personal use...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Quote Originally Posted by BobVila View Post
    Teamviewer is free for personal use...