Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 56

Thread: asus 1015pem

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: asus 1015pem

    1. edit /etc/default/grub as root, and locate the line starting with GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT:

    change to
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="something acpi_osi=Linux"

    update-grub

    2. install jupiter..http://www.webupd8.org/2010/12/jupit...sata-link.html.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    100

    Re: asus 1015pem

    Forcing acpi_osi=Linux on this machine reduces the maximum brightness.

    I've noticed those hotkeys don't work either -- they work without eeepc_wmi but then the volume hotkeys don't work.

    I haven't tried Jupiter yet, I'm going to get on that when I have time and also look at the Eee module source.

    Edit: Jupiter is cute... nice interface... unfortunately it does nothing for hotkeys.

    Change L67 of drivers/platform/x86/eeepci-wmi.c from this:
    Code:
    	{ KE_KEY, 0x5d, { KEY_WLAN } },
    To this:
    Code:
    	{ KE_KEY, 0x88, { KEY_WLAN } },
    Takes care of Fn+F2.

    I'm also seeing WMI hotkeys on Fn+1, Fn+2, Fn+e, Fn+s, Fn+d and Fn+f, but I'm too lazy to bind them right now. Maybe I'll make them into media controls.

    The other missing Fn keys don't show up in syslog so I have nothing for those yet.

    Edit 2: Jupiter actually breaks the touchpad upon reboot, so I'm not using it anymore. I bound all the other hotkeys in the keyboard shortcuts app under System->Preferences, so there's no need for it unless you like menus.

    I made a 1-line script to disable the LCD witn Fn+F7 and bound it in keyboard shortcuts, since I'm really lazy:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    sleep 1; xset dpms force suspend
    Edit 3: New script for disabling the LCD:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    if [ `sudo setpci -s 02.0 f4.b`  != "00" ]; then
        sudo setpci -s 02.0 f4.b=00
    else
        sudo setpci -s 02.0 f4.b=ff
    fi
    There's a handy script to toggle resolution ( ganked from here) that I bound to Fn+F4:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    find_res=`/usr/bin/xrandr | grep "1024x768"`
    
    if [ $? == "0" ]; then
      xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1024x600 --scale 1.00x1.00
    else
      xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1024x600 --scale 1.00x1.28
    fi
    For Fn+F3, you have to change /etc/acpi/asus-touchpad.sh line 16 to:
    Code:
    XINPUTNUM=`xinput list | grep -i 'touchpad' | sed -n -e's/.*id=\([0-9]\+\).*/\1/p'`
    Then add a keyboard shortcut as sudo /etc/acpi/asus-touchpad.sh

    For Fn+F9, I'm going to write a script to cycle through the values 0-2 for /sys/devices/platform/eeepc-wmi/cpufv but I haven't gotten to it yet. This controls SHE (super hybrid engine), the doc is in Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-platform-eeepc-wmi in the kernel:
    There are three available clock configuration:
    * 0 -> Super Performance Mode
    * 1 -> High Performance Mode
    * 2 -> Power Saving Mode
    So to set super performance mode:
    Code:
    echo 0 > /sys/devices/platform/eepc-wmi/cpufv
    etc...

    Finally, I bound the other wmi hotkeys I found, Fn+1,2,e,s,d,f to random stuff. This makes the esdf inverted-T the same as the arrow keys on other asus laptops, controlling the media functions. I bound Fn+1 to the home folder and Fn+2 to the web browser. Here's the relevant section in eeepc-wmi.c:
    Code:
    static const struct key_entry eeepc_wmi_keymap[] = {
    	/* Sleep already handled via generic ACPI code */
    	{ KE_KEY, 0x5d, { KEY_WLAN } },
    	{ KE_KEY, 0x88, { KEY_WLAN } },
    	{ KE_KEY, 0x32, { KEY_MUTE } },
    	{ KE_KEY, 0x31, { KEY_VOLUMEDOWN } },
    	{ KE_KEY, 0x30, { KEY_VOLUMEUP } },
    	{ KE_IGNORE, NOTIFY_BRNDOWN_MIN, { KEY_BRIGHTNESSDOWN } },
    	{ KE_IGNORE, NOTIFY_BRNUP_MIN, { KEY_BRIGHTNESSUP } },
    	{ KE_KEY, 0xcc, { KEY_SWITCHVIDEOMODE } },
    	{ KE_KEY, 0x6b, { KEY_F13 } }, /* Disable Touchpad */
    	{ KE_KEY, 0xe1, { KEY_F14 } },
           	{ KE_KEY, 0xe9, { KEY_DISPLAY_OFF } },
    	{ KE_KEY, 0xe0, { KEY_PROG1 } },
    	{ KE_KEY, 0x5c, { KEY_F15 } },
    	{ KE_KEY, 0xef, { KEY_NEXTSONG } }, /* f */
    	{ KE_KEY, 0xed, { KEY_PLAYPAUSE } }, /* d */
    	{ KE_KEY, 0xee, { KEY_PREVIOUSSONG } }, /* s */
    	{ KE_KEY, 0xec, { KEY_STOPCD } }, /* e */
    	{ KE_KEY, 0x83, { KEY_HOMEPAGE } }, /* 1 */
    	{ KE_KEY, 0xeb, { KEY_WWW } }, /* 2 */
    	{ KE_END, 0},
    };

    Edit 4: My 2GB stick finally came. It makes a huge difference, it's not choking at all anymore. The one I got is a Kingston KVR1333D3S9/2GETR 2GB PC3-10600 CL9. It was $25 shipped (in the USA). I posted this swap tweak on page 4 but I'll repeat it here again, since it still seems to help even with 2GB.

    To make it swap out to disk less, I changed vm.swappiness to 10 (from 60) and it helps, until it gets over ~850MB of memory usage, and then it starts crawling again. You can test this for yourself with
    Code:
    sudo sysctl vm.swappiness=10
    If it seems better, you can make it permanent with:
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/sysctl.conf
    and add the line
    Code:
    vm.swappiness=10
    Also I forgot to post my resume script for brcm80211. There isn't really resume support for this driver yet, so I made a script in /etc/pm/sleep.d/99-brcm80211
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    case "${1}" in
    	hibernate|suspend)
    	;;
    	resume|thaw)
    		sleep 3;
    
    		modprobe -r brcm80211;
    
    		sleep 1;
    
    		modprobe brcm80211;
    	;;
    esac
    The reason to wait 1 second is that sometimes reinserting the module will fail without a delay, I'm not exactly sure why, but it's broken until a reboot when it happens. Adding 1 second of wait time fixes it and I've not had that problem since.
    Last edited by ALLurGroceries; January 18th, 2011 at 02:47 AM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: asus 1015pem

    Quote Originally Posted by ALLurGroceries View Post
    Forcing acpi_osi=Linux on this machine reduces the maximum brightness.
    [/code]

    mmm, Hey)
    i've just removed broadcom-sta driver (because i've got machine with BCM4313, which also works with bcmwl) and brightness-reduce problem has disappeared
    i am happy, wish you also would be)

    PS. your method is classic Unix-way, but we use Ubuntu here (i think about installing Debian Sqwueeze, because i've got it on my lap-top)
    Last edited by PALKOVNIK; December 29th, 2010 at 01:56 AM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    100

    Re: asus 1015pem

    @PALKOVNIK I've been using brcm80211 instead of STA, thanks though. I still have the reduced backlight if I force ACPI_OSI, no reason to do that for me though.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: asus 1015pem

    Quote Originally Posted by ALLurGroceries View Post
    @PALKOVNIK I've been using brcm80211 instead of STA, thanks though. I still have the reduced backlight if I force ACPI_OSI, no reason to do that for me though.
    i forgot to tell, that i've also installed packages "acpi" and "jupiter"

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    6

    Re: asus 1015pem

    Quote Originally Posted by ALLurGroceries View Post

    Change L67 of drivers/platform/x86/eeepci-wmi.c from this:
    Code:
        { KE_KEY, 0x5d, { KEY_WLAN } },
    To this
    Code:
        { KE_KEY, 0x88, { KEY_WLAN } },
    Takes care of Fn+F2.
    Hi, I'm new to Linux/Ubuntu

    How am I able to change this? In my folder i can't find a file named "eeepc-wmi.c"
    Where can I change those keys?

    Thank You

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    100

    Re: asus 1015pem

    @ drum4zirrus

    It's the source code to the eeepc-wmi kernel module, found in your kernel source tree. You need to rebuild this module after modifying the source. If you want detailed instructions let me know and I can try to write them up when I get some time.

  8. #18

    Re: asus 1015pem

    Quote Originally Posted by ALLurGroceries View Post
    Forcing acpi_osi=Linux on this machine reduces the maximum brightness.
    It also instructs the BIOS to send ASUS specific key presses (fn-f1, fn-f2, fn-space, etc) to the OS, and fixes a problem with RFKill not toggling the WIFI and Bluetooth radios. The hotkeys will never work right without it.

    Quote Originally Posted by ALLurGroceries View Post
    Edit: Jupiter is cute... nice interface... unfortunately it does nothing for hotkeys.
    Sure it does, install jupiter-support-eee.

    Code:
    $ cat /etc/acpi/actions/eeepc-actions.sh 
    #!/bin/bash
    #
    # EeePC Actions
    # Andrew Wyatt
    # Generic script to take actions on keypress
    #
    
    JUPITER_VAR="/var/jupiter"
    JUPITER_PATH="/usr/lib/jupiter/scripts"
    
    KERNEL_REV=$(uname -r | sed -s -e "s#-.*##" -e "s#2.6.##" -e "s#\W.*\$##")
    
    . /usr/lib/jupiter/scripts/notify
    . /etc/default/jupiter-support-eee
    
    
    EEE_USER=$(who | sed -n '/ (:0[\.0]*)$\| :0 /{s/ .*//p;q}')
    
    SELECTION=$3
    
    if [ "$KEY_SHOW" = "1" ]; then
          notify "$SELECTION" "/usr/share/pixmaps/jupiter/jupiter.png"
    fi
    
    ### Define Kernel specific actions here..
    if (( "$KERNEL_REV" < "31" )); then
      KEY_WIFI="00000010"
    fi
    ###
    
    case $SELECTION in
      "")
        exit 0
      ;;
      $KEY_RESOLUTION)
         su $EEE_USER -l -c "DISPLAY=:0 $JUPITER_PATH/resolutions" &
      ;;
      $KEY_ROTATE)
         su $EEE_USER -l -c "DISPLAY=:0 $JUPITER_PATH/rotate" &
      ;;
      $KEY_FSB)
         $JUPITER_PATH/cpu-control &
      ;;
      $KEY_VGAOUTA)
         $JUPITER_PATH/vga-out clone &
      ;;
      $KEY_VGAOUTB)
         $JUPITER_PATH/vga-out vga &
      ;;
      $KEY_VGAOUTC)
         $JUPITER_PATH/vga-out lvds &
      ;;
      $KEY_WIFI)
         $JUPITER_PATH/wifi &
      ;;
      $KEY_PERFMON)
        notify "$KEY_PERFMON_NAME" "$KEY_PERFMON_ICON"
        su $EEE_USER -l -c "DISPLAY=:0 $KEY_PERFMON_COMMAND $KEY_PERFMON_ICON" &
      ;;
      $KEY_TOUCHPAD)
        su $EEE_USER -l -c "DISPLAY=:0 $JUPITER_PATH/touchpad" &
      ;;
      $KEY_BT)
         $JUPITER_PATH/bluetooth &
      ;;
      $KEY_CAM)
         $JUPITER_PATH/camera &
      ;;
      $KEY_CUSTOMA)
        notify "$KEY_CUSTOMA_NAME" "$KEY_CUSTOMA_ICON"
        su $EEE_USER -l -c "DISPLAY=:0 $KEY_CUSTOMA_COMMAND" &
      ;;
      $KEY_CUSTOMB)
        notify "$KEY_CUSTOMB_NAME" "$KEY_CUSTOMB_ICON"
        su $EEE_USER -l -c "DISPLAY=:0 $KEY_CUSTOMB_COMMAND" &
      ;;
      $KEY_CUSTOMC)
        notify "$KEY_CUSTOMC_NAME" "$KEY_CUSTOMC_ICON"
        su $EEE_USER -l -c "DISPLAY=:0 $KEY_CUSTOMC_COMMAND" &
      ;;
      $KEY_CUSTOMD)
        notify "$KEY_CUSTOMD_NAME" "$KEY_CUSTOMD_ICON"
        su $EEE_USER -l -c "DISPLAY=:0 $KEY_CUSTOMD_COMMAND" &
      ;;
    esac
    [ Fuduntu.org ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Fuduntu Blog ] - [ Fuduntu Wiki ]

    For a classic desktop with the latest apps, get Fuduntu!

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    100

    Re: asus 1015pem

    Quote Originally Posted by fuduntu View Post
    It also instructs the BIOS to send ASUS specific key presses (fn-f1, fn-f2, fn-space, etc) to the OS, and fixes a problem with RFKill not toggling the WIFI and Bluetooth radios. The hotkeys will never work right without it.
    If you want to get those hotkeys working with eeepc-wmi instead of eeepc-acpi you can use my modifications above to the kernel module. That way you don't get reduced brightness and everything works this way (except for cycling through SHE settings with Fn+F9, I haven't gotten to that yet). I was using the eee script for Jupiter but it broke my touchpad, and some of the hotkeys still didn't work. Cheers.

  10. #20

    Re: asus 1015pem

    Quote Originally Posted by ALLurGroceries View Post
    If you want to get those hotkeys working with eeepc-wmi instead of eeepc-acpi you can use my modifications above to the kernel module. That way you don't get reduced brightness and everything works this way (except for cycling through SHE settings with Fn+F9, I haven't gotten to that yet). I was using the eee script for Jupiter but it broke my touchpad, and some of the hotkeys still didn't work. Cheers.
    Do you mean that it disabled your touchpad (fn-f3, or jupiter -> Devices -> Enable Touchpad)? It can't possibly break it.

    I haven't used eeepc-wmi, I'll take a look but I'm not a fan of recompiling kernel modules to make things work (hard coded key codes in the kernel makes my skin crawl).

    Interesting blurb about the brightness, the Eee PC sets it to 133 decimal by default probably to increase the life of the backlight.

    You can "overdrive" it by tweaking a PCI configuration register:

    http://forum.eeebuntu.org/viewtopic.php?p=17759#p17759
    [ Fuduntu.org ] - [ Fuduntu Forum ] - [ Fuduntu Blog ] - [ Fuduntu Wiki ]

    For a classic desktop with the latest apps, get Fuduntu!

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •