Thread: How do I adjust brightness on Lenovo S10-3 ideapad?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

How do I adjust brightness on Lenovo S10-3 ideapad?

Hi! I'm very new to ubuntu (installed it last week) and have a dual boot of lucid alongside windows 7 starer on my lenovo S10-3 netbook.

I'm trying to look for a way to adjust brightness but I can't. I've tried the following:

1. pressing function key arrow up or down. in windows 7 I have a scroll bar that appears on the bottom of the screen similar to like when you adjust brigthness or volume on a tv set. but it doesn't appear when I'm booted to lucid.

2. using the brightness adjustment bar in 'preferences' when i click on the battery icon. this bar appears on my neo laptop (also on lucid, can't remember the exact model) but this bar doesn't appear on my lenovo netbook.

3. gconf-editor/apps/gnome power manager/backlight - I've tried adjusting thru gconf-editor as well but it doesn't seem to work.

4. I've also tried adding the brightness applet on the panel but it's not working either.

Please help. My panel's too bright

Thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: How do I adjust brightness on Lenovo S10-3 ideapad?

I forgot to mention that I also installed the lubuntu desktop environment on my lucid. But the brightness problem already existed before I installed lubuntu package.

Thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

By they way, this is my video card: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller

Beans

Are you comfortable editing the grub command line? If so, when grub menu comes up, try pressing e against the linux kernel and adding the following to the end of it
    Code:
    acpi_backlight=vendor
    That MAY work, alternatively this link shows some ways to do it (but it's not desparately pretty)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx