Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Changing keyboard layout in CLI

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Beans
    296
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Question Changing keyboard layout in CLI

    OK, so here's the situation basically.
    I have an Ubuntu server running on a VM. I'm accessing this system mainly remotely, and usually with a console connection. I export the output of some applications (like Skype, Google Chrome etc.) to my Windows desktop, where I run Xming as my X server. Everything works pretty neat, but... I can't change the keyboard layout, because the applications are running on the remote machine. So is there a way to change the keyboard layout in CLI?

    Cheers,
    Boyan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    783

    Re: Changing keyboard layout in CLI

    The command is setxkbmap but I don't know if that works on remotes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Beans
    296
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Changing keyboard layout in CLI

    Interesting, I'll give it a shut...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Beans
    296
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Lightbulb Re: Changing keyboard layout in CLI

    This really works. And it changes the layout of the cli. I haven't test it though with an application. I mean, when I start an application, does it use the keyboard layout or it starts with the default? I need to check it...

    Cheers,
    Boyan

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Beans
    296
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Thumbs down Re: Changing keyboard layout in CLI

    It works on applications also. So when I execute for example
    setxkbmap -layout bg
    the layout is changed in all applications. I actually expected a different behavior as I've checked the checkbox "Separate layout for each window" in the Keyboard Preferences...
    And also when I used it, my standard key for alternating the different layouts wasn't working anymore
    Well I guess I have to dig a bit deeper into the manual, probably there're some other options...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Beans
    296
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Talking Re: Changing keyboard layout in CLI

    Yeah, it works from remote It's solved, well it's not that flexible, but for me it's fine...

    Cheers,
    Boyan

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •