Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gparted/Ubuntu not properly reading my partitions.

Beans

Gparted/Ubuntu not properly reading my partitions.

Hello to all the wonderful people in this fabulous community. Please forgive my noobishness.

I'm new to learning about computers and different OS's, so I decided to get my feet wet. I've been trying to dual boot ubuntu on my laptop with windows 7 currently installed, and I've gotten to the stage where I'm creating the partition devoted to ubuntu.

When I opened Gparted, it didn't read my partition information correctly. First off, it reads two of the files as "unknown" under File System. Second, the labels don't match the disk space. For example, according to my windows disk manager my C: drive is 218.88 GB, but according to Gparted, the 218.88 GB drive is labeled "recovery". It doesn't add up.

I tried posting on the Gparted forum but no one's responded.

Next, I tried creating the partition on windows disk manager, and when I boot ubuntu from the CD to install it, I get to the "partition selector" screen of the install process and it still doesn't read my partition info correctly.

I'm stumped, and more than a little bewildered. It's like my computer is schitzo. The Windows side reads the partitions as fine and healthy, and the Ubuntu side can't even read the info properly. I was hoping someone out there knew what was wrong, or if someone could ask me specific questions to help troubleshoot the problem. Or maybe this problem is already solved and I just haven't found the right thread.

Thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Re: Gparted/Ubuntu not properly reading my partitions.

Quote Originally Posted by alanmoortician View Post
    Next, I tried creating the partition on windows disk manager, and when I boot ubuntu from the CD to install it, I get to the "partition selector" screen of the install process and it still doesn't read my partition info correctly.
    elaborate

Beans