Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problem with Automatic Mounting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    158

    Smile [SOLVED]Problem with Automatic Mounting

    I used ntfs-config to make my ntfs partitions automatically mount at boot.Yesterday i Deleted my Windows Partiton using disk utility then after i booted up every time i got the message "Press s to skip mounting and m for manual recovery" i installed pysdm and set the options of all ntfs partitions to default and renamed them to b,c,d now i have lot of problems with disks i can see only two drives and one is empty.
    Is there any way to restore all the partion settings to default.
    here is the my partition information
    Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x41854184

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda2 4463 38914 276729834+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sda5 4463 15935 92156841 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda6 15936 27408 92156841 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda7 27409 33194 46471482+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda8 33194 38674 44016640 83 Linux
    /dev/sda9 38674 38914 1926144 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    and my fstab file

    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>

    proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda8 :
    UUID=afae7a05-0866-4f22-86c9-22040bf5c066 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /dev/sda7 /media/Disk ntfs-3g defaults,noexec,nosuid,nodev,noauto,users,locale=e n_IN 0 0
    /dev/sda6 /media/New\040Volume_ ntfs-3g defaults,noexec,nosuid,nodev,noauto,users,locale=e n_IN 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda5 :
    UUID=463427F03427E1A3 /media/_ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
    /dev/sda6 /media/__ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
    /dev/sda7 /media/___ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
    UUID=E8866489866459D8 /media/E8866489866459D8 ntfs-3g defaults,nosuid,nodev,locale=en_IN 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda9 :
    UUID=a878a0b5-7d18-4c4b-bfe5-7671e290c4c1 none swap sw 0 0
    Last edited by alaukikyo; August 30th, 2010 at 12:30 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    158

    Re: Problem with Automatic Mounting

    I fixed the problem By Resetting all the values to default and using ntfs-config to configure and rebooting.
    BUt the problem of Showing "Press S to skip mounting and m for manual configuration" is still there i beilive it will be solved after disabling automounting the patitions at boot and ten enabling it agian but i don't know a way to turn it off.If some of you can help

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    158

    Re: Problem with Automatic Mounting

    BumP

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    6,771

    Re: Problem with Automatic Mounting

    And you wonder why some people would like to see all these utilities to automount partitions purged from the repository. I mean what the heck is this:

    /dev/sda6 /media/New\040Volume_ ntfs-3g defaults,noexec,nosuid,nodev,noauto,users,locale=e n_IN 0 0
    UUID=463427F03427E1A3 /media/_ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
    /dev/sda6 /media/__ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
    /dev/sda7 /media/___ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0

    Pleas post the output of the following command so we can get some information about your partitions:
    Code:
    sudo blkid -c /dev/null
    And post your current fstab so we have the current status.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    158

    Re: Problem with Automatic Mounting

    Here the output
    /dev/sda5: LABEL="New Volume" UUID="463427F03427E1A3" TYPE="ntfs"
    /dev/sda6: LABEL="New Volume" UUID="36E42DAEE42D70F3" TYPE="ntfs"
    /dev/sda7: LABEL="Disk" UUID="868AC3F48AC3DF35" TYPE="ntfs"
    /dev/sda8: UUID="afae7a05-0866-4f22-86c9-22040bf5c066" TYPE="ext4"
    /dev/sda9: UUID="a878a0b5-7d18-4c4b-bfe5-7671e290c4c1" TYPE="swap"
    And Here is My fstab file

    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>

    proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda8 :
    UUID=afae7a05-0866-4f22-86c9-22040bf5c066 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    /dev/sda7 /media/Disk ntfs-3g defaults,noexec,nosuid,nodev,noauto,users,locale=e n_IN 0 0
    /dev/sda6 /media/New\040Volume_ ntfs-3g defaults,noexec,nosuid,nodev,noauto,users,locale=e n_IN 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda5 :
    UUID=463427F03427E1A3 /media/_ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
    /dev/sda6 /media/__ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
    /dev/sda7 /media/___ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
    UUID=E8866489866459D8 /media/E8866489866459D8 ntfs-3g defaults,nosuid,nodev,locale=en_IN 0 0
    #Entry for /dev/sda9 :
    UUID=a878a0b5-7d18-4c4b-bfe5-7671e290c4c1 none swap sw 0 0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    6,771

    Re: Problem with Automatic Mounting

    This is going to be such a big change to your fstab that I would take the precaution of making a backup copy:
    Code:
    sudo cp -a /etc/fstab /etc/fstab.bak
    Make a new set up mountpoints:
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/Diska5
    sudo mkdir /media/Diska6
    sudo mkdir /media/Diska7
    Open fstab as root:
    Code:
    gksu gedit /etc/fstab
    Place a # in front of all the lines that reference ntfs so that they look like this:
    #/dev/sda7 /media/Disk ntfs-3g defaults,noexec,nosuid,nodev,noauto,users,locale=e n_IN 0 0
    #/dev/sda6 /media/New\040Volume_ ntfs-3g #defaults,noexec,nosuid,nodev,noauto,users,locale= e n_IN 0 0
    #UUID=463427F03427E1A3 /media/_ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
    #/dev/sda6 /media/__ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
    #/dev/sda7 /media/___ ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
    #UUID=E8866489866459D8 /media/E8866489866459D8 ntfs-3g defaults,nosuid,nodev,locale=en_IN 0 0
    Add new lines in fstab that look like this:
    Code:
    /dev/sda5 /media/Diska5 ntfs defaults,umask=000,locale=en_IN    0    0
    /dev/sda6 /media/Diska6 ntfs defaults,umask=000,locale=en_IN    0    0
    /dev/sda7 /media/Diska7 ntfs defaults,umask=000,locale=en_IN    0    0
    Save fstab, exit gedit, and back in the terminal issue the following command:
    Code:
    sudo mount -a
    If there are any errors after you run "sudo mount -a" report back. Otherwise see if you can access all your ntfs partitions at their new mounpoints.
    Last edited by Morbius1; August 29th, 2010 at 02:16 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    158

    Re: Problem with Automatic Mounting

    Cheers Will Try that out

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    158

    Re: Problem with Automatic Mounting

    Thanks Everything went fine an my problem is fixed

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •