Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to enable dual core?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    How to enable dual core?

    I've recently realised that my laptop (Dell Inspiron 640m) which should come with a dual core, doesn't actually run like one on Ubuntu. For example when I look at the system monitor, I see only one CPU trace and when I click on system it says I have the Intel Core 2 CPU T5500@1.66 GHz.

    Now I know I have a dual core. The sticker on the chassis says it should have an Intel Centrino Duo. Question is, how do I get the dual core functionality back? Please help!

    I'm using Lucid 10.04 LTS.
    Last edited by opto09; August 18th, 2010 at 03:00 PM. Reason: Wrong version

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Beans
    726
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: How to enable dual core?

    Open a terminal and type uname -a If the next word after the version number is SMP, you are already running a SMP kernel and thus using both cores. You could also do a cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep name If it lists two CPU's, you have SMP enabled.
    Last edited by Fafler; August 18th, 2010 at 03:16 PM. Reason: typ0
    What? I'm not allowed to say fsck? Then how is i supposed to help people fix their filesystems?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: How to enable dual core?

    I'll try this at home tonight but I don't think it will solve my problem. At work where I know I also have a dual core, the system manager shows me two traces - 1 for each CPU. At home, it only shows me one. Also I ran dmesg last night and it said something like:
    [ 0.000000] SMP: Allowing 1 CPUs, 0 hotplug CPUs

    Edited: Ok I've managed to try the commands you mentioned above

    Code:
    uname -a
    Linux mycomp 2.6.32-24-generic #39-Ubuntu SMP Wed Jul 28 06:07:29 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux
    
    cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep name
    model name	: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU         T5500  @ 1.66GHz
    So how do I know if I've got multi-core enabled?
    Last edited by opto09; August 19th, 2010 at 08:50 AM. Reason: Added information

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Rīga, Latvija
    Beans
    124
    Distro
    Xubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: How to enable dual core?

    Yes i also want to be sure Dual and for future Quad and Sexi core to be working.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Planet earth, for now.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: How to enable dual core?

    Are you using the 32bit or 64bit version of Ubuntu? 64bit for dual-core. Probably not your problem but just mentioning ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    6,790
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: How to enable dual core?

    opto09; Hi !

    dmidecode, amongst bunches of info, will show the processor status. Terminal code:
    Code:
    sudo dmidecode | less
    pipes the output to less for paging through the output, and "q" to quite the utility.
    my 2 pennies worth < == BDQ

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Hills CA
    Beans
    8,088
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: How to enable dual core?

    A Core2 Duo would be a dual-CPU processor. A Core2 CPU would imply a single processor. A centrino duo is just a sticker. It's just marketing to get you to buy the thing.

    Code:
    dmesg | more
    or
    more /var/log/kern.log
    Spacebar to page though it and q to quit. You should see BogoMIPs rating for both cpu's.



    For a dual PentiumD it would look like:

    Dec 11 12:13:51 aopen-mint14 kernel: [ 0.084069] Brought up 2 CPUs
    Dec 11 12:13:51 aopen-mint14 kernel: [ 0.084074] Total of 2 processors activated (11788.29 BogoMIPS).

    It quite clearly shows 2 processors and twice the BoboMIPs of each processor separately--which is also shown in the file.
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages

    Unumquodque potest reparantur. Patientia sit virtus.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •