Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Firefox NoScript problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lakeview, AR
    Beans
    292
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Angry Firefox NoScript problems

    using FFox 3.6.1. I read that installing NoScript was a good idea for safety. Tried it. Too much blocked. Could not play anything from YouTube. So I turned it off. Still same problem at YouTube. So I uninstalled it. Still same problems at YouTube. So I upgraded FireFox to current 3.6.8. Still same problems. So what can I do to get YouTube (and I'm sure other) videos to play again? They do play in Chrome. Thanks, Chuck ps. I tried ENTER to cause paragraphing in this message, but all spacing keeps getting stripped out. Is this fixable, or a FEATURE ?
    If you can't find time to do it right,
    where will you find time to do it over?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    27

    Re: Firefox NoScript problems

    is flash installed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lakeview, AR
    Beans
    292
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Firefox NoScript problems

    Quote Originally Posted by davidogg View Post
    is flash installed?
    How do I find out if FLASH is installed? btw, another problem, in my email program (Yahoo) when I click on TO or BCC I do not now get an address list displayed. This is a GREAT problem as I send many emails this way.
    If you can't find time to do it right,
    where will you find time to do it over?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Off the Alaskan Coast
    Beans
    794
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Firefox NoScript problems

    Navigate to Tools, Add-ons and click the plugins tab to see all installed plugins.
    FIC K8-800T AMD64 3200+ 2GB PC3200 GeForce 6800GT Mandriva 2010 KDE+Compiz+Emerald
    MSI K9N2GM AMD 9950BE 4GB DDR2-800 GeForce 8200 10.10 WUSB600N
    Acer 6920 Core 2 Duo 4GB GeForce 9500GS 10.04 Ubuntu User #17586

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lakeview, AR
    Beans
    292
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Firefox NoScript problems

    I have ShockWave 10.1 r53 ... Disable button is visible, therefore I assume it is enabled.
    Last edited by Chuck_N; August 13th, 2010 at 06:27 PM.
    If you can't find time to do it right,
    where will you find time to do it over?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lakeview, AR
    Beans
    292
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Firefox NoScript problems

    this is a check to see if paragraphing works.


    I am using Chromium now.


    This is the third paragraph.


    It worked in Preview, so I'm assuming it'll post okay, too


    -chuck


    ah, yes it did...........so the problem exhibits another problem with FireFox.
    If you can't find time to do it right,
    where will you find time to do it over?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lakeview, AR
    Beans
    292
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Firefox NoScript problems

    should I maybe delete firefox
    and download/install a new one ?
    If you can't find time to do it right,
    where will you find time to do it over?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lakeview, AR
    Beans
    292
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Firefox NoScript problems

    another thing I see wrong with Firefox now. I'm used to calling up Google with a G and the dropdown yielding GOOGLE and other options. I'm used to calling up Yahoo Mail by hitting M and the dropdown yielding Mail.Yahoo.com and other options. Now, for whatever reason, neither of these work any more. FireFox is surely screwed up. When I hit G now, I get six entries, none of them starting with a G, but a G somewhere buried in their title or URL. Also, when I call up ANYTHING from YouTube, it paints the black box and puts the title up top, but no way to run it. No Run/Pause symbol. Right-click has no RUN option. I don't understand; this is bizarre; ever since I installed and uninstalled NoScript. Again, can I, should I, uninstall and reinstall Firefox ????
    Last edited by Chuck_N; August 14th, 2010 at 07:19 AM.
    If you can't find time to do it right,
    where will you find time to do it over?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lakeview, AR
    Beans
    292
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Firefox NoScript problems

    Yahoo works fine in Chrome, with none of the major problems it has in FireFox. Please.............. I need some guidance. -Chuck
    If you can't find time to do it right,
    where will you find time to do it over?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Poland
    Beans
    4,331
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Firefox NoScript problems

    you need to give firefox some time to learn your browsing habits. I get everything i want within 2-3 keystrokes.
    I find it actually useful that ff searches in titles too. For example if i want to go to starcraft forum which is located somewhere on battle.net i simply type 'st' because that's the part of its name (address is a meaningless 'garbage' with a bunch of numbers in this case), diablo 3? Similar garbage but 'D' is enough. Index of gold on stock market? 'xa' part of XAUUSD (which is located at the end of page address on some financial portal) is enough.

    After 1 week of gathering usage data firefox will show you only the pages you frequently use.

    flash problem - i'd start from scratch, remove every trace of it and try to install it again.
    NoScript problem - i use it and there are settings how strict script control is supposed to be.
    for example you can decide if only script originating from www.something.com are allowed or maybe more general something.com with any prefix which would be less strict. You can add permanent exceptions so some classes of scripts are always allowed - for example everything on youtube so you never have to unblock anything while using it. You simply haven't checked the configuration options noscript has. When you configure noscript properly you get considerable performance boost, because all these meaningless from user's perspective datamining, ads loading, cpu intensive scripts are filtered out.
    I configured most of frequently used pages so i don't have to control permissions most of the time. And i disabled popups about blocked scripts, i don't need to see that
    Last edited by Vaphell; August 14th, 2010 at 09:46 AM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •