Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Compiz Edge Fliping. Conrner only?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    /dev/null/
    Beans
    109
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Talking Compiz Edge Fliping. Conrner only?

    Hi all ...
    This is driving me crazy. Compiz works like a charm when i set the whole right or left edge to flip y desktop wall. However thats quite annoying because it flips when i try to close a window or use the scrollbar.

    I used to have this configured where it would only flip on the bottom corner. however i had to reinstall die to sound issues and now i cant make it happen.

    The second i switch right, to bottom right it stops working.

    I have tried with both CCSM and simple config settings manager (see SS)

    Can you guys help me get this working?

    Thanks in advance ....
    (the Ubuntu community rocks)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Code:
    int getRandomNumber()
      return 4; //Chosen by dice roll 
               //Guaranteed to be random.
    XKCD

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    /dev/null/
    Beans
    109
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Compiz Edge Fliping. Conrner only?

    please?
    Code:
    int getRandomNumber()
      return 4; //Chosen by dice roll 
               //Guaranteed to be random.
    XKCD

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    /dev/null/
    Beans
    109
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Compiz Edge Fliping. Conrner only?

    really ubuntuforums?

    No one is going to reply?

    Code:
    int getRandomNumber()
      return 4; //Chosen by dice roll 
               //Guaranteed to be random.
    XKCD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Compiz Edge Fliping. Conrner only?

    Quote Originally Posted by TyLLy_4 View Post
    really ubuntuforums?

    No one is going to reply?

    Maybe it is because you've answered the question partially by yourself (reinstalling die causing a conflict!!??) and compiz settings may get very tricky sometimes in case of conflicts.

    Sorry for no-useful comment rather than a help, but since you've already tried ccsm & simple-ccsm, I can only suggest either setting (in compiz) everything to default then resetting as you like, or even better- just uninstall the whole compiz package+CCSM, disable ultra visual effects & reinstall them. (You won't have to download them again if their .deb packages are still in /var/cache/apt/archives folder.)
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags
    Am I not replying you? Perhaps this is why.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    /dev/null/
    Beans
    109
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Compiz Edge Fliping. Conrner only?

    Reinstalling didn't cause the problem. the problem is that i had to do a clean install of Ubuntu and after doing so i couldn't do configure corner flip again.

    I will uninstall everything and reinstall it....

    thanks for posting.



    Edit: Didn't work also i noticed that it does not work for rotate cube neither.
    Last edited by TyLLy_4; August 15th, 2010 at 03:25 PM.
    Code:
    int getRandomNumber()
      return 4; //Chosen by dice roll 
               //Guaranteed to be random.
    XKCD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Compiz Edge Fliping. Conrner only?

    Quote Originally Posted by TyLLy_4 View Post
    however i had to reinstall die to sound issues and now i cant make it happen.
    Gotcha....! So it was a typo that got me confused (die or due?).

    Have you tried Ubuntu Studio + Compiz? I think (for no explainable reason ) that is more suitable for compiz effects.

    Can you post a list of all the effects that you have enabled with compiz? Also, while trying to enable rotate cube, do you get any error message?

    As you can see in my profile, I'm using Ubuntu Studio 9.10, but I've disabled all the effects months ago to gain performance. However, based on your description, I may try the same on a live flash installation. (Compiz or any visual effects don't work on VMware )

    Are other effects working fine? (wobble, water, burn, fade, etc.).
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags
    Am I not replying you? Perhaps this is why.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    /dev/null/
    Beans
    109
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Compiz Edge Fliping. Conrner only?

    I had no Idea that Ubuntu studio existed. Looks perfect for me! however i don't want to perform an install and loose all my apps and what now (burned ISO ... will do on next install)

    The edge flip effect works fine with both desktop wall and desktop cube (witch i don't use for performance issues like you mentioned) however it's quite annoying as it only enables you to use the whole side of your desktop as a trigger to switch to the next desktop.

    In my old install (yes i did mean DUE to a reinstall) this worked with the bottom corner of the screen only. This its what im trying to enable


    Enabled Plug ins are:
    Desktop Wall
    Bicubic Filter
    Blur Windows
    Fading Windows
    Window Decorations
    Wobbly Windows
    Window Previews
    Image Loading (all Extensions)
    dbus
    Inotify
    Glib
    Mouse Position Polling
    Regex Matching
    Resize Info
    Scale Addons
    Session Management
    Workarounds
    Extra WM Actions
    Move Windows
    Place Windows
    Resize Windows
    Ring Switcher
    Scale
    Snapping Windows
    Code:
    int getRandomNumber()
      return 4; //Chosen by dice roll 
               //Guaranteed to be random.
    XKCD

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    /dev/null/
    Beans
    109
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Compiz Edge Fliping. Conrner only?

    I was trying to post my compiz settings .... but i cant find the file ...
    when i go to ~/.config/compiz/compizconfig/ all i see is a small config file wich only has this:
    Code:
    [gnome_session]
    profile = Default
    plugin_list_autosort = true
    Code:
    int getRandomNumber()
      return 4; //Chosen by dice roll 
               //Guaranteed to be random.
    XKCD

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    India
    Beans
    8,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Compiz Edge Fliping. Conrner only?

    Okay, I've just installed Lucid on a flash drive & CCSM, simple CCSM on it. Enabled whatever you listed with two issues:

    1. Couldn't find 'Bicubic Filter'
    2. Snapping Windows has a conflict (Edge Resistance) with Wobbly windows, so didn't enable (Wobbly windows is enabled).

    Now, for the flip windows effect in desktop wall, I've set it so that when I click at the bottom right corner of the screen, it switches to the next desktop.

    Step 1:


    Step 2:


    Step 3:


    Step 4:



    Is that what you want? If not, then please post in detail the action and its effect that you want.
    Last edited by varunendra; August 17th, 2010 at 10:27 PM. Reason: to replace attachment with embedded images.
    Varun
    Help others by marking threads as [SOLVED], if they are. (See how)
    Wireless Script | Use Code Tags
    Am I not replying you? Perhaps this is why.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    /dev/null/
    Beans
    109
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Compiz Edge Fliping. Conrner only?

    Your my new favorite person in the world!

    Thank you so very much!

    Also i discovered something weird (do you think its a bug that should be reported)

    The setting I was trying to enable was actually edge fliping (where the screen flips without you having to click anything) but when i enabled the "move within wall" settings like you suggested (where im actually supposed to click on the corner to make it flip) it works the way I wanted it to.

    So i guess in order to have edge flip I needed to enable move within wall. Should i report this?

    Thanks A lot again this is precisely why i love ubuntu
    Code:
    int getRandomNumber()
      return 4; //Chosen by dice roll 
               //Guaranteed to be random.
    XKCD

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •