Thread: virtual box shared between users?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Cool virtual box shared between users?

OK guys, I'm trying to win my wife over on the linux idea and need to get a win7 box running for her as a crutch to ween her off the ugly windoz world. Don't get me wrong I'm a newbie and just now getting the hang of things.

I have spent hours and hours (ok days) messing with KVM and decided to try virtual box. I was able to get it working. I just build a 10.04 box and put /home on it's own drive. I setup a /home/public/vbox dir for the virtual box files & disks to live in. After building the Win7 box (for my wife) I logged in as her and realized I didn't know how to open the virtual box from her account. I changed the group to vboxusers recursively and set the permissions to 777 out of desperation. Her account is a member of the vboxusers group. I was able to add the virtual drive I created. But still don't know how to load the virtual machine I created under my account. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciate. I did skim through the manual and didn't see anything specific to the topic.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: virtual box shared between users?

Am I just being stupid? Do I just have to export the vm in my account and import it in hers?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

i've been thinking the same thing today, while trying to tweak the kids' new Lucid -- btw, i don't know if there's an easier way to do this (if there is, i hope someone chimes in) -- but on the kids' account, i couldn't ``import'' anything. instead, i had to access the virtual machines i set up from my own account by doing this in VirtualBox Puel v. 3.2.6:

fyi -- this did not work with a live cd i made a ``snapshot'' of (that is still accessible in my account). it only worked with an OS that i installed... dunno why but that's what happened.

S T E P . 1