Page 12 of 16 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 156

Thread: How to: Create a Customized GRUB2 Screen that is Maintenance Free.

  1. #111
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    3,221
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to: Create a Customized GRUB2 Screen that is Maintenance Free.

    Quote Originally Posted by Naruto Man View Post
    I have 4 questions :

    - How to know my grub resolution (i am Ubuntu 11.10)
    - How to customize the top title in the GRUB (see attachments)
    - If i want to remove these settings is it safe to remove the 06_custom file
    - I have another Linux distribution (linux-deepin) so how to make the 4 lines-box for it ???
    1) Step 1 page one sets the Grub2 resolution in the /etc/default/grub file.
    2) I am not aware that there is a way to change the top title.
    3) Yes, you could just delete the 06_custom file. But you want to make sure you have made /etc/grub.d/10_linux executable
    first via this command sudo chmod +x /etc/grub.d/10_linux
    The same would apply to /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober and /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ if you want that to be displayed too.
    Then of course you want to enter sudo update-grub after changing anything in Grub2.
    4) As far as adding the other distros; I am not exactly sure.
    You could pose that question in drs305's Grub2 Thread. I am sure he would know the answer. He knows quite a bit about Grub.
    The Grub 2 Guide by drs305

    Post #105 in this thread shows my current Grub2 screen.
    I have made these changes to Jaunty Jackalope Ubuntu 9.04, Karmic Koala Ubuntu 9.10, Lucid Lynx 10.04 and Maverick Meerkat 10.10,
    but I decided to revert back to Lucid Lynx 10.04 LTS.
    I have not heard any complaints that this tutorial will not work on the more recent versions,
    I plan on switching to Precise Pangolin 12.04 after it has been out a while.

    Good luck and if there is anything about this tutorial I can help you with other than adding other distros, feel free to post here.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Ubuntu 12.04 | 14.04 | 14.10 | 14.10 Mate | Mint 13 | Mint 17 | Windows 7 | All 64 bit

  2. #112
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to: Create a Customized GRUB2 Screen that is Maintenance Free.

    @ Naruto Man,

    I read your Question #4 and then downloaded the 11.12 version of linux-deepin. I can't read Chinese so I couldn't review the documentation, but I did mount the ISO and inspect it's contents.

    linux-deepin is based on Debian and apparently Ubuntu, and the ISO file structure is the same as Ubuntu's. That leads me to believe the installed version will be very similar to Ubuntu.

    If that is the case, you can create a custom menu and use the example Cavsfan provides in his first post. Just change the items in red, make the custom file executable (or add the contents to an existing custom menu) and I am fairly confident it will boot.
    GRUB2

    Retired.

  3. #113
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Egypt
    Beans
    7
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Unhappy Re: How to: Create a Customized GRUB2 Screen that is Maintenance Free.

    @drs305
    you mean something like that :
    Code:
    echo "Linux Deepin 11.12" >&2
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "Linux Deepin 11.12" {
             set root=(hd0,4
             linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda4 ro quiet splash
             initrd /initrd.img }
    EOF

    and i want to know the meaning of these 2 lines :
    Code:
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 1cfc7a8dfc7a60c6
    chainloader +1
    and this line from Linux box :
    Code:
    initrd /initrd.imgand
    @Cavsfan
    i didn't want to set GRUB resolution but i want to know the GRUB resolution from a command line or something else

    Thanks
    Last edited by Naruto Man; April 2nd, 2012 at 11:50 AM.

  4. #114
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    3,221
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to: Create a Customized GRUB2 Screen that is Maintenance Free.

    Quote Originally Posted by Naruto Man View Post
    @drs305
    you mean something like that :
    Code:
    echo "Linux Deepin 11.12" >&2
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "Linux Deepin 11.12" {
             set root=(hd0,4
             linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda4 ro quiet splash
             initrd /initrd.img }
    EOF
    and i want to know the meaning of these 2 lines :
    Code:
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 1cfc7a8dfc7a60c6
    chainloader +1
    and this line from Linux box :
    Code:
    initrd /initrd.imgand
    @Cavsfan
    i didn't want to set GRUB resolution but i want to know the GRUB resolution from a command line or something else

    Thanks
    Thanks drs305 for providing that information. That makes sense.

    Naruto Man, if you do not change the resolution and leave that line commented out (default)
    the resolution is 640x480.
    I don't know of a way at boot up (displaying Grub2 menu) to display the possible resolutions. I don't think
    it is possible.


    Here is a bit of information on changing resolutions:
    Changing resolutions in Grub2.

    There is a lot of information about Grub2 on that page. Just above that spot is the possible colors that you can change the text to.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Ubuntu 12.04 | 14.04 | 14.10 | 14.10 Mate | Mint 13 | Mint 17 | Windows 7 | All 64 bit

  5. #115
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    3,221
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to: Create a Customized GRUB2 Screen that is Maintenance Free.

    Quote Originally Posted by Naruto Man View Post
    and i want to know the meaning of these 2 lines :
    Code:
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 1cfc7a8dfc7a60c6
    chainloader +1
    and this line from Linux box :
    Code:
    initrd /initrd.imgand
    Those 2 lines pertain to and are necessary for booting into Windows.

    I am not sure about the other line or where you got that from. We'll wait on drs305 for that answer.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Ubuntu 12.04 | 14.04 | 14.10 | 14.10 Mate | Mint 13 | Mint 17 | Windows 7 | All 64 bit

  6. #116
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to: Create a Customized GRUB2 Screen that is Maintenance Free.

    Quote Originally Posted by Naruto Man View Post
    @drs305
    you mean something like that :
    Code:
    echo "Linux Deepin 11.12" >&2
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "Linux Deepin 11.12" {
             set root=(hd0,4)
             linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda4 ro quiet splash
             initrd /initrd.img }
    EOF
    Don't forget the parenthesis I've added in bold red the second line of the menuentry.

    and i want to know the meaning of these 2 lines :
    Code:
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 1cfc7a8dfc7a60c6
    chainloader +1
    The 'chainloader' line is, as CavsFan states, normally used for Windows. It passes control to another bootloader. It can actually be used to pass control to a Grub installation on a partition rather than the MBR, but you don't want to do this.

    The 'search' line is used by Grub to look for some of the Grub files, Since you already know where the files are, and are making a custom entry for them, you may not need to add this line but it won't hurt and can help in some situations. If you do add the 'search' line make sure you substitute the UUID of the linux-deepin partition for the one in the example.

    and this line from Linux box :
    Code:
    initrd /initrd.imgand
    @Cavsfan
    That looks like a typo in which an extra "and" was typed on the line. The last line in the menuentry should be:
    initrd /initrd.img
    i didn't want to set GRUB resolution but i want to know the GRUB resolution from a command line or something else
    Thanks[/QUOTE]

    If you haven't made any changes in the /etc/default/grub file, the resolution is set automatically by grub. Grub is supposed to set the 'optimum' resolution but I don't know how it determines which is optimum - I don't know if it's the highest supported resolution or something else.

    You can check the supported resolutions available to Grub as the computer boots by going to the Grub command line. When you see the Grub menu, press 'c' to go to the command line. Then type "vbeinfo" and all the resolutions available to Grub should be displayed. Typing "set" shows the current settings.
    Last edited by drs305; April 2nd, 2012 at 09:57 PM.
    GRUB2

    Retired.

  7. #117
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    3,221
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to: Create a Customized GRUB2 Screen that is Maintenance Free.

    I just updated it to triple booting Ubuntu Lucid Lynx 10.04, Xubuntu 12.04 and Windows 7.
    I'll try to add a picture as soon as I can.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Ubuntu 12.04 | 14.04 | 14.10 | 14.10 Mate | Mint 13 | Mint 17 | Windows 7 | All 64 bit

  8. #118
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    3,221
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to: Create a Customized GRUB2 Screen that is Maintenance Free.

    I just added a picture of my latest tri-boot grub2 screen at the bottom of the How to. It will never have to be touched.
    The text that is displayed for each menu entry is entirely up to you. I left off the version numbers and just put the names.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Ubuntu 12.04 | 14.04 | 14.10 | 14.10 Mate | Mint 13 | Mint 17 | Windows 7 | All 64 bit

  9. #119
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    3,221
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to: Create a Customized GRUB2 Screen that is Maintenance Free.

    Here is my newest grub screen. It never has to be modified.
    My grub files are on Lucid Lynx. It defaults to Windows 7 for my wife in case it reboots.

    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Ubuntu 12.04 | 14.04 | 14.10 | 14.10 Mate | Mint 13 | Mint 17 | Windows 7 | All 64 bit

  10. #120
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Beans
    34

    Re: How to: Create a Customized GRUB2 Screen that is Maintenance Free.

    Ran into a problem when I ran ¨sudo update-grub¨. Here´s the output:

    Code:
    Generating grub.cfg ...
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-25-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-25-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-24-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-24-generic
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-23-generic
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-23-generic
    Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
    Found Microsoft Windows XP Professional on /dev/sda1
    error: syntax error.
    error: Incorrect command.
    error: syntax error.
    error: line no: 74
    Syntax errors are detected in generated GRUB config file.
    Ensure that there are no errors in /etc/default/grub
    and /etc/grub.d/* files or please file a bug report with
    /boot/grub/grub.cfg.new file attached.
    done
    Here is my current 06_custom file:

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    exec tail -n +3 $0
    # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
    # menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
    # the 'exec tail' line above.
    echo "Lubuntu Precise Pangolin 12.04" >&2 
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "Lubuntu Precise Pangolin 12.04" {
        set root=(hd0,msdos2)
            linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 ro quiet splash
            initrd /initrd.img
    }
    EOF
    echo "Lubuntu Precise Pangolin 12.04 (Recovery Mode)" >&2 
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "Lubuntu Precise Pangolin 12.04 (Recovery Mode)" {
        set root=(hd0,msdos2)
            linux /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 ro single
            initrd /initrd.img
    }
    EOF
    echo "Windows XP" >&2 
    cat << EOF
    menuentry "Windows XP" {
        insmod ntfs
        set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 9AB84DC1B84D9C9F
        chainloader +1
    }
    EOF
    I haven´t rebooted yet, because I´m afraid of grub not liking the error and having issues. Ideas?

Page 12 of 16 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •