Thread: Ubuntu won't load after changing video drivers.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Ubuntu won't load after changing video drivers.

Hey guys, I'm new to Ubuntu and am liking it very much so far apart from this little problem.

Problem:- I installed the open source ati video driver to see if i could get some 3d gaming going, it worked after the initial restart but since then Ubuntu won't load. i see the grub screen and can also use safe mode and the default drivers (failsafe?) and it loads. 3d games don't work tho. (this is not a problem as i don't play much on the computer, have a ps3 for that).

Full screen video works fine (even with mp3s and the video playing) with the Failsafe driver. so thats all i need.
    The computer gets used for websurfing, mild video production and music playback.

The Video card is a ati card (r300?)
    cpu is Intel pentum 4 2.8ghz
    ram 1015mb

I suppose my question is can someone help me get this back to the default drivers again? I don't need 3d to work It was way to slow to run Torcs anyway. (the reason i wanted 3d, and i can play that on the windows comp anyway)

I'm new to Ubuntu but should be able to follow and directions from you guys no probs.
    I really like Ubuntu and it will be my main OS when i fix this.

Thanks for any help.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Re: Ubuntu won't load after changing video drivers.

How did you install the ATI drivers?
    Want an alternative to 99% of Windows applications?
    http://www.osalt.com/

"Dude, real programmers compile" - Plato 428BC

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Boot using the Failsafe first, than uninstall the drivers and try to reinstall them, sometimes this works. Sounds like something went wrong with the installation. Update your system first (Update Manager)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Quote Originally Posted by danc666 View Post
    Problem:- I installed the open source ati video driver