Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Large *.mp4 Files in gtkpod

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Large *.mp4 Files in gtkpod

Hi, guys.

I'm fairly new to Ubuntu, but I've been able to resolve most of my problems with a little searching and this site has been invaluable to me. Finally, however, I have come across something that nobody else seems to have asked.

Currently, I am dual booting XP and Ubuntu 10.04, but in the future I will be getting a new machine and I will only be running Ubuntu and won't have access to iTunes. Because I have an iPod Touch, I have been trying to find workarounds for syncing everything that iTunes took care of in the past. One problem I have is managing movies.

I have looked through various media players/iPod management tools (Amarok, Rhythmbox, gtkpod) and I am using Rhythmbox to sync my music and and attempting to use gtkpod to sync my movies.

gtkpod is able to sync songs (Tested with a few minute test clip) and short *.mp4 files (15mb I know for sure from test).

I am unable, however, to get it to sync a movie (~700mb)

I am able to drag it onto my iPod in gtkpod, but when I try to save the changes and write the files, it hangs at "Copying Tracks" at 0%. It eventually crashes during the couple times I have tried to wait it out.

So this being my situation, my question is, is there a size limit to the *.mp4 files I can sync to my iPod Touch via gtkpod? Also appreciated, is there any other tools that you know of that I can sync videos to my iPod with?

Thanks for the help, guys. I know that iPhone support isn't the best in Ubuntu, but you seem to be very helpful to everyone else I've seen here.

Beans
    Distro

Re: Large *.mp4 Files in gtkpod

If it is relevant to any suggested program, I do have my iPod Touch jailbroken. Also fairly important is it's model.

Second Generation
    16 GB
    Non-MC Model
    Can SSH into filesystem