Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Original photos for wallpaper etc.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

Talking Original photos for wallpaper etc.

I couldn't find any other thread precisely like this, so forgive me if one already exists.

I am an amature photographer. I take thousands of pictures (many of the same thing under varying conditions), and I think the odd one is suitable for desktop backgrounds. I use open-source Linux software (in Ubuntu) to edit my images ... whether it be cropping, contrast, color, etc.

I would like to start this thread with some very strict parameters for submissions. Of course, I can't police the thread, so if it goes crazy ... well ... so be it. However, here are the parameters I would *prefer* were adhered to for submissions:

1. Real Photography. While digitally generated images can be very cool, I would prefer this thread be limited to actual photos.

2. Taken by you! I don't want images that you found on interfacelift.com or some other site. While they might be spectacular images, I am only interested in truly original material produced by Ubuntu community members.

3. Editing should truly be completely done using open source software. I would put priority on Ubuntu operating system software, and software packages that can be sudo aptitude installed.

4. Exif data should really be intact. I know this might be a tough one for some folx, but generally, if your camera takes JPGs, and you edit the image with The Gimp and then save the image, your exif data is going to be intact. For composites (such as panoramas), this is a bit tougher. Same with HDR images.